My Promo-Mentors Writting Challenge: What would you do if you had financial freedom?

in #promomentors-challenge6 years ago (edited)

This question lit and sparks the light bulb in my head since most of the things that I wrote here on steemit is related to it. So why not join the fun? What would I do once I obtain financial freedom? What are the things that I will still be doing? What are the things that will make me wake up in the morning feeling excited and enthusiastic?

image source: homeschoolhomefrontier.com

#1, I will learn how to cook healthy dishes to serve all the important people in my life every day, especially my two little boys. I would like to spend a lot of time watching my kids as they grow, guiding and honing them to become a productive member of the society. Making sure that they will grow up align with the teachings of the mighty creature above. You might say that I can still do those while I am busy trying to put money on the table right? Well, the problem is I haven't seen them for quite a while now. To cut long story short; I came from a failed marriage a year ago, the child custody is with the mother as always until they reach the right age, what's even worse is that their mother only cares about money which I'm still lacking. Oh well, how I wish I have tons of money now but anyway, this is not the right place to vent out. Sorry, I don't mean to. I'll carry on to the number two.

image source: emotivebrand.com

#2, I will get back to all the remarkable people who've been good and generous to me. I will not just give them special present but I will also share them the knowledge I have acquired along the way in reaching the financial freedom.

image source: rappler.com

#3, I would like to take this opportunity to illustrate the current situation in our country (Philippines) so please bear with me. Our country is considered to be a developing country where poverty is widespread, developments are concentrated only in selected areas. I've seen poverty and I'm still experiencing it. Finding the root cause of this issue is a wide and broad topic and it is arguable if I say that our system has something to do with it because at the end of the day you can't blame anybody but you.

The thing is, nobody teaches the pioneer of our latest generation (which I belong) about financial literacy. With the power of the internet, this kind of knowledge has now become accessible. However, many of us don't seem to utilize the internet for that purpose. Based on the recent statistics study from Hootsuite; it is ironic to see that despite being below the chart when it comes to internet speed, we still manage to top the list of the most time spent on the internet, and guess what? Filipinos use social media longer than any other race.

image source: slideshare.net

I've been observing the latest trending topics in our country for a few days now using Twitter's what's trending and google trend feature (facebook trending appears to be not available in our country yet) and really most of us are just so into entertainments. Showbiz, TV shows and different types of Gossip dominates the attention of most people here. I know this proof is not enough to support my conclusion; but if you ask anyone here, I can guarantee that most will be guilty about this.

Get good grades so you'll get a good job, that's the type of cliché that everyone in my generation is really used to hear. I didn't hear nor see someone or any institutuion here who promotes financial literacy, if there was one then it only means that the advocacy is not that vigorous enough since many have obviously missed it.

I could have just simply wished to give money to poor people like me but no! I believe that if we collect all the money in the world and divide it equally to everybody; soon it will all just return to the same pockets and that's true, the money stays only to those who know how to manage it properly.

So my third and last thing to do when I finally accomplished financial freedom is, I would like to save the upcoming generations not to fall to the same destiny like most of us did. If God will allow me to obtain power and wealth, I will definitely do something to help our country raise its awareness about financial literacy. Maybe I'll put up a foundation, a free school that provides good education including finance, or I can create an organization that will focus in encouraging people to pay attention about this very significant matter.

And those are the three things I would like to prioritize just in case 😉

Kudos to @Futurethinker and The Team
Shout out to @evecab 😉

I will surely appreciate your upvote and resteem. Follow me for more. Let us share the love and let us help each other :)  

Can someone adopt this poor minnow please? I am so dying for steemit love and affection Haha,

If this post has reached you and you're not on steemit yet,  I encourage you to join this amazing community of people who love sharing valuable thoughts back and forth. Join steemit today. and follow me @gavinci13  

Sort:  

Thank you very much for your entry, @gavinci13!

You are welcome @evecab thank you and your team. I am looking forward in joining your future contest 😎

Congratulations @gavinci13! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62900.77
ETH 2949.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59