My Promo-Mentors Writing Challenge - How Should the Ending Look Like? Journey #11

This is the first community writing challenge, and as a part of @promo-mentors, it's just too good to pass. And most of my posts, if not all points to a journey ahead that makes me financially free, why not join a contest that's about it?

It's the journey, not the destination.

Before answering the main question of this contest, I will talk about how much does it cost to be financially free? I am living in the Philippines, so in other countries numbers might be greater or lesser than what I'd project.

Back in 2015, the average family income of Filipinos is about Php 267,000 ($5,340), and the average expenses would amount to about Php 215,000 ($4,300); leaving a savings of about $1,000 a year. (Source). I earn about half of that in a year, so I'm still halfway before I could support an entire family(sorry marriage, you'll have to wait). But aiming for financial freedom, I should earn at least twice that amount.

Currently, I am 26 years old. The average human lifespan is about 76. I need to secure at least 50 years of my family's future, today. If the average annual inflation is about 6% and I invest that money in something that returns an annual return rate of 4% a year, with 20% capital gains tax(making the effective interest rate into 3.2%), I need to have $1,937,893.82 invested.
(Formula is P = A_1 [1 - (1 + g)^n(1 + i)^-n]/(i - g)]).

Thankfully for crypto, this amount could be gradually reduced. A single Dash masternode, which costs about $429,971 today, could generate a 6.32% annually. Suppose Dash price would increase with an average of 10% annually, less capital gains, you'll gain an effective interest rate of about 13.56%. Since your capital growth is higher than the inflation rate, your Dash masternode could support you, and your family for an infinite amount of time, given your expenses adjusted with inflation, I only need (Formula is P = A_1 /(i - g)) about $192,086.34 invested in Dash. Little half it's MN could support my whole family! I believe if this is calculated by buying STEEM POWER, it'll be lesser. But that's not the real purpose of this post, and I'm afraid to make the content of calculating become greater than the actual topic that needs to be covered.

Now, back to the main topic. If I have about $200,000 today, how would I live for the rest of my life? Let's add more science into this. A theory in psychology proposed by Abraham Maslow to describe the pattern that human motivations generally move through.(Source) Being financially free completes the bottom part of the pyramid. I'd probably work more on the higher parts of it.



Source

Speaking of safety, well, I'm already rich and poverty is rampant in the country where I live, would be the next to be complied. Money is the root of all evil, as what they say. I'd probably surround myself with some goons and keep hiding in a 6-inch thick bunker for the rest of my life - not. Even most of us don't know that generosity actually increases our safety and security. Build a longer table, not a higher fence. I projected to get atleast twice of what I need for a reason - so I could give. I even dream and think almost everyday on how to get back to those whom I owe to. I'm not a good guy. Some would even think I'm opportunistic. I have tons of debts to settle. Paying them would be great, helping those who didn't owe me anything would even be better.

Being generous, brings me safety, and much better, love and affection. Of course, you'll reap what you sow. Most of humanity is thinking that everybody's negative, I can't blame those who always watch the news. But community-wise, you can even see on Steemit how much the positivity is rolling around here. And more people are generous and selfless, I can name names if you really want to. Being a leader in the community, a helping hand, and a great example would bring myself tons of love. My first stop would be donating to the Lung Center of the Philippines, or any charity that covers the health and wellness of the effects on smokers. I'm a smoker, and am stopping(I really hope this goes on), and this one would be really one of the charities I'm considering to give part of what I'll earn.

I'm less concerned on boosting my ego. I think I'm already too egoistic, even I haven't reached that far. But, since this becomes another product of some good deeds that I intend to do, I'd be glad to accept it. Being a philanthropist is really one of my goals. Going on this journey really makes me realize that it's better to give than to receive. Having the 60/40 mentality really changed my life. But for now, as some people say We need to be selfish first, before we could become selfless. We could only give what we have.


What a man can be, he must be.


Source

The only guy I know that have reached the peak of that triangle is Mahatma Ghandi. Ironic it is, aiming to be wealthy just to achieve this peak and I give broke man as an example. And I believe so, most people who have gotten here have little or almost no wealth at all. But wealth and self-actualization could still be together. It only becomes harder, since one could be blinded by greed - including myself. Maslow believed that to understand this level of need, the person must not only achieve the previous needs, but master them. Hell, even mastering the most bottom part is hard, what more could be the next ones.

But as of now, all I could do is work hard, and I hope I'd become better as this journey goes along. One day or another, surely this will be realized. If not all, atleast one.


Sort:  

Kabayan! You seem to be really knowledgeable about numbers and philosophy but the best thing i read is when you say your a Philantrophist. Our coutry needs more like you para talagang deretso n ang ating pag angat...keep it up and congrats a big whale @jerrybanfield just noticed you. Howdyou that? Hehe

thank s for participating =) I cross fingers that Crypto gets you financially free =)

It was my pleasure eve. I wish the same for you too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95