My Promo-Mentors Writing Challenge"-Last Letter From My Late Mom

in #promomentors-challenge6 years ago (edited)

Hi steemians.
It's been a while on here
okay so earlier today, I got a call from my friend @gidionline and we got talking, he basically called to inquire about my well-being, then he told me a little about @futurethinker and some other prominent names like @ejemai (the brain behind @stach), @nairadaddy (brain behind @air-clinic), @curie and a little of what they do, finally he asked me to check up their blog and participate in their competitions, straight away I did, I came across this contest organized by @futurethinker to write about a most memorable experience. Although I have had so many experiences which I'd consider memorable, most happens to be sad ones which I can't easily hip in the bud, so I guess next to my dad's memorable execution from this world, my mom's would come next, so I guess I would just regard that as my most memorable experience thus far.

image

My Most Memorable Experience
Life itself is embedded with so many experiences, some of which might be categorized as the good, the bad and the ugly, well today this particular experience I speak of is considered bad and ugly. Being alive and living for the past years as a orphan has me on life unbalanced scale. Growing up I lost my dad to some heavy weight of drug abuse and I had to live with my mom for just a short while just before death took her away and left me orphaned.

So after dad's death and burial, mom had become very depressed as a result of the lawsuit we lost, we lost virtually everything to dad's relative and we had to move back down to Nigeria and settle for the little life left for us to live. We arrived the city of Lagos on the early hours on December 31st 1997. It was grandma's house, the beach house which we often visited on holidays. We settled in and grandma has a chit-chat with mom while I took a walk around the beach.

DQmevHD1ZLA5DKtPiMr25WAZvv5d9DUa9Xs4vpNrpzfNxLV (1).gif

The long day was almost over, it was sun down and everyone was indoors, I left the beach after seeing a strange creature and got scared, in my state of fear I ran towards mom's room to tell her of my experience, I was so eager to tell her, I approached mom's room, have some few soft knocks, there was no reply, this was really unlike mom, then I gave harder some harder knocks, just then grandma showed and we both knocked continuously, with the little strength on me, I was able to break off the locks, the door eventually opened and my eyes meet the most fearful sight, Mom had committed suicide by hanging.

DQmevHD1ZLA5DKtPiMr25WAZvv5d9DUa9Xs4vpNrpzfNxLV.gif

Some few days later I woke up in the hospital, grandma was by my side, I couldn't recall anything that had happened, out of curiosity I asked grandma, she gave a warm smile and asked that I rest again, just then my eyes closed again. We left the hospital after some few days, we got home, no sight of mom, curiously I kept on asking, grandma sat me down narrated the other day's event to me, I couldn't digest it, I was so disturbed and almost running to the beach, grandma eventually got hold of me and kept me calm, then brought out a note which she said mom had written for me, it reads this:

image

Please tell my own; traviz
Please tell my son that I loved him;
Please tell him mummy put everything into herself so that what came out of her would be everything
Tell him he is everything I worked for..
Tell him he is the senseless questions that finally made sense..
Tell him he is the answer to my sincere prayers.

Please tell him to breathe
Please tell him to breathe, exhale.
Tell him to breathe, breathe in and out until he becomes united with the air; until he hears the tone and rhythm in the wind and blends with the breeze..
Tell him to learn to breathe, learn to breath in especially more times than out; breathe in and store in for days when air cannot be found; those days when he would gasp for air in a bid to hold on.

Please tell him to beware about life and this world
Tell him that life will not be comfortable with him but life will recognize him when he walks because he will surely command it..
Tell her the world will care about her edges but will never care when she is on the edges; he should not expect that life would care for him, if he doesn't take care of himself first..
Tell him that expectations and living up to expectations have ruined and even killed many thus he should know his speed and program her drive to fit her own perfect speed limit; the only expectation I have of him is that he lives..
Tell him the expectations of the righteous shall not be cut off but they are not his to be fulfilled.. proverbs 23:18
Tell him he is nobody’s destiny.

Tell him to discover and know himself
Tell him to know herself beyond being his race and skin colour; being black is a race but being a whole person is a lone walk that does not neccessarily require opinions.

Tell him to learn to value his silence
Tell him to value his silence, but also love the sound of her voice..
Tell him to know when his voice should resonate in a room; thus silencing everyone and when everyone’s voice should resonate in# header a room; thus silencing him alone..
Tell her growth is silent and wisdom has it’s own recognized voice..
Tell him that he became underprivileged the very second he came out of my womb complete as a male, with a black and a voice.

Finally please tell him;
Tell him that he was made made and shaped by God in nine months but I carried him for nine months..
Tell him that I love him..
Tell him I bless him.
With love from mummy
December 31st 1997

image

I made a post about it here:
https://steemit.com/untalented-mama/@traviz/a-letter-from-my-dead-mom-20171229t9911136z

I read through more than once, I cried and continued in tears for I realized I was orphaned and was only 12 as at the time.

DQmevHD1ZLA5DKtPiMr25WAZvv5d9DUa9Xs4vpNrpzfNxLV (1).gif

What I Learned From This Experience
The experience was painful, I miss her, I really do, and at times I still feel her presence, now it gives me a purpose to live for, a goal to pursue and I have learnt to stay focus to attain my goals. In life some experiences are just to mould us into a better and stronger person and it becomes our choice to harnass the lessons learnt through them and channel in a right direction.

Thank you @futurethinker and @promo-mentors for putting up this contest; it has given me the opportunity to retrospect and face my fear of the past.
I support @promo-mentors.

DQmcN2oVGdrmfBpxJC5LLhs68jY8QRS9oCjsSzWnH25cB78 (1).gif

Sort:  

This made me cry! I hate your for this haha nah just kidding 😊 THIS IS ABSOLUTELY A CURIE AND AWARD WORTHY POST! this is even a tear-worthy blog. I dont know what to say, i can feel your pain. So pleace just accept this priceless upvote of mine! God bless :)

Thank you so much @ligarayk.
Such kind words.
And a worthy upvote.

I appreciate.

You have made this bot cry like a baby. That you use this story as a positive motivator in your life now is amazing. No child should have to see that.

Your mother's letter is really beautifully written as well. Wow.

Much love - @carlgnash



Click the badge to learn more about
Human Certified Original Works

I never knew bot's do cry, much more like babies..

When life gives you lemons; make lemonades,

I guess I have learnt a lot from the above quote.
Thank you so much @humanbot and @carlgnash for this; it literally shook the foundation of my wildest expectations.
Thank you on behalf of my mother, she will have a smile on where she is now.

Followed.

@traviz, you have always been such an exceptional writer, I could tell this from the first day we met last year. The value you add to poetry, I don't get to see such every day; I guess I runs in the blood..
It's a good thing a tear now has value..

teardrops

Now mummy would definitely be smiling where she is; congratulations brother, nobody does it better.

@gidionline, words would fail me to express my deepest gratitude to you, all this wouldn't have been possible if you hadn't made that call.
Am grateful beyond words, but in due time, my actions would speak.
Have plans of doing a challenge or contest; just to give back to the community like you have always taught me.
You still remain the most selfless human I have met in person.
Please accept my gratitude.

@traviz What a story thank you for writing this. I feel bad that you had to go back to this memory. Reading that note, I just... I don't know.

Thank you again for sharing this @traviz.

Thank you very much @futurethinker for such a great opportunity.
I lack the best of words to express exactly how I felt, but now the past has served as a propeller for the future.

This was really touching. I can only imagine what you went through.

In life some experiences are just to mould us into a better and stronger person and it becomes our choice to harnass the lessons learnt through them and channel in a right direction.

True @traviz... true.

Life is a teacher; the more you live, the more you learn.
Every tear I shed now has value

teardrops

Thank you @jeffways

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70018.15
ETH 3794.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75