You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 25 | Depression through the lens of CBT & the case study of Mr. B.

in #psychology6 years ago

Hello @churchboy, what a beautiful comment you left for us here!

Thank you so much for illustrating the case of your acquaintance. I find illustrations like yours particularly important specially when combined with all the info we are gathering here. This is, of course, because I have the hope it will enlighten people and bring them some understanding should anyone of us encounter such cases in our lives, with a family member, friend etc..

so what I did was to recall all the things I did achieve and all the blessings I've had including the important people in my life. This helped me dissipate the negative feelings and a miracle happened - the positive feelings also came in a flood. So I believe that

I could not thank you enough for sharing your very, own experience with adopting such approach. I know it is not easy. I, personally, find quite difficult to think positively in moments of sadness. This serves as a great encouragement (truly appreciate it!)

I also agree with this behaviorist view that difficult feelings do arise from the meaning given to the situation, and you have illustrated this further with a very-straight forward example, that I believe all of us have encountered at some point in life. How many times haven't we thought 'Oh that was awful'! Just to hear, let's say a friend reply 'it was not that bad!'.

I am glad to hear you are one of the few people who can overcome difficulties and see them as opportunities. Hence, your most insightful, inspirational comment! Beautiful.

Thank you so much for you most kind, encouraging words about my work. You have a very positive energy! All the best to you :)

Sort:  

Thank you so much for having the time to reply my comment. I don't know how you manage to have the time. Yes, it is really difficult to leave negative feelings behind and catch on to positive feelings, so to speak.

I have had some practice with it and I get better each day. I hope to read more of your insightful posts about the work you do with people, helping them. You're totally awesome.

You are spoiling me with your kind words!

Somebody has got to do it and it is my singular honour :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43