You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Inside the Manipulator’s Mind: The Dark Triad of Personality

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Hello dear @dysfunctional :)

It looks like we are all so very busy! It is always great to see a post from you on my feed. I laughed when I saw this particular one because I had been planning to post about the Dark Triad. But, you have done such a great job here! I shall look into the first study you have referenced on your list too.

I see the word narcissist thrown around a lot these days; but when I see your explanation of the terminology I guess there is a reason for that!

narcissists are people who feel entitled to a better treatment than others due to their unrealistic feeling of superiority and aim at gaining others’ attention and admiration

I like your insight on how to communicate with people presenting such traits, and I also noticed that you highlighted that in doing so one needs to understand such individuals are just concealing insecurities and fragile egos. But, the following statement sparked my interest:

Let’s face it. With such people it’s either use them or end up being used by them.

Do you believe personality is fixed?

It becomes difficult to avoid individuals with these types of personalities when they are a family member, for example. I have come across quite a few people in this sort of situation (with either parents or siblings presenting these traits.)

Thank you so much for this wonderfully written post :)
All the best to you always.

Sort:  

Good to see you back !
...synchronicity at work (or something).

My more personal ( amateur) take on the narcissistic behavior, I posted yesterday..

https://steemit.com/blog/@lucylin/spotting-the-poor-me-narcissist-online-part-2

Emotional manipulation takes many forms, and it's often so covert that clients have difficulty articulating how and when it's happening,
Paulhus's work on the dark side of personality stems from that same scientific module in his mind. In the recent article on the dark side of personality, he notes that he got into this area because of his concern about “construct creep.”
He became worried about how researchers who studied narcissism, for example, without simultaneously thinking about Machiavellianism or psychopathy, would start to expand the term to encompass the other related, but distinct, concepts.

Indeed, you are quite right. Some researchers argue that that what is defined as a triad is actually a part of one trait. There is a lot to research in this field actually, as studies often provide controversial data.
Thanks for reading!

Thanks for your time.

Hello Abby!
Sadly, it is true that recently the amount of work is overwhelming and I cannot find time to even stay active with reading and commenting here.

I am so glad that you have chosen the same topic and I would very much like to read it. However, my friendly advice is to turn your attention to more recent studies as they show really interesting results and are quite up to date. For this article I did a brief overview. It would be much nicer to see your point of view.

I am currently working on narcissism and I am participating into a cross-cultural study in which we aim to validate a new instrument to measure narcissism. There is a lot to write about this topic and I really hope that I would find the time to do that soon enough.

I personally believe that personality is strongly influenced by social and behavioral factors. If they remain the samw then probably we could say that personality could be fixed.. Would you disagree?

Last but not least I would like to use this reply to express my gratitude towards your constant support. It means a lot and it's not left unnoticed.

Best regards to you!

If they remain the samw then probably we could say that personality could be fixed.. Would you disagree?

I am definitely more comfortable giving my opinion about the traits within the continuum of the big 5, which I believe it changes with age, in spite of minimal social changes. So, I would like to think it is the same with the dark triad too. But, like you said, there is a lot to be discussed about this. Things are not so straight-forward! I am looking forward to your forthcoming posts about narcissism, and will keep your advice in mind.

Thank you for your kind words. You take good care of yourself :)

Personality traits do change with age. But I believe that the overall personality, attitude, views etc. in their core remain the same and there's always a part within us which will forever remain fixed. What other traits would accompany it in the current personality organization is a really interesting question :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63247.38
ETH 3242.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90