You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Perceptions of Jordan Peterson. Reflections after the lecture in Iceland

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

I would have proposed to him! 😏

This is an incredible post @saunter! Thank you for sharing this experience with us :)

12 Rules for Life is a good book. As for Maps of meaning ... magnificent, but ... well, still chewing on that one! Other than that, I have also come across some of his works on Agression in Children, which I cited in a post I wrote a few months back.

I know that he is equally liked and disliked, and I by no means agree with everything he says. Still, I think he is great for psychology as a whole. Despite of how scientific other academics regard him to be, it is great that it is Peterson that is inviting people to the world of psychology through his vast knowledge and charisma.

I hope he reads your thesis :D

Reesteemed!

Sort:  

I think when one, like Peterson, speaks with rational thought, open mindedness, and critical unemotional evaluation of the human animal and it's attempts at finding it's own definition, this ruffles feathers. I and @winstonalden have listened to many of his talks and he seems to speak mostly common sense and rational thought. I think the human animal is a creature of habit and herd and when they are told , as a group, to think one way it is hard for them to hear differing views. Even when the view is to 'self evaluate and use logic to discern your own reality'.

I think we probably agree on him. Such things can be polarizing so I tend to not speak about t, but then again, in our current climate I monitor most of my thoughts, as one is never sure who is the 'thought police'. We do live somewhat in a dystopian future sci fi novel it seems sometimes :)

That is the thing isn't Donna :) what we think it's critical unemotional evaluation, others think it's prejudice. Also, you have raised an incredibly valuable point here, that of 'the human animal being a creature of habit and herd'. One of the arguments Social Identity Theory puts forwards is :

rather than the group mind being outside the individuals who comprise it, the group becomes located in the mind of its members.

Well, this is what grants someone their 'group membership', after all. But still, that doesn't stop the fact that the individual exists in a continuum which in one extreme is the personal identity, and in the other is the social identity. Neither of which should be neglected in the process of decision making, but rather equally consulted.

Yes, we live in interesting times. Times in which the minorities not only gained their deserved opportunity of being heard, but also the position to intimidate legitimate discussions. So, I better stop here, I don't want to be sent to room 101 ;)

The irony of the human condition too, is that it is always trying to find itself in the collective and yet in reality it is an isolated creature in a void of it's own perception.

Perhaps the fear of reality and the true solitary is too much for the general human capacity to face, so they turn away from their truth in themselves and embrace the shadows of the collective which only exists in their belief in it.

Sorry, rambling .I better have another cuppa and focus on painting and keep philosophizing to better minds :)

Your rambles are very welcome :)
Happy painting!

Oh I was super wondering what's your opinion on him, since he's, you know... really controversial. I don't agree with everything he says too, and I am well aware of some of his contradictions and simplifying things. But sometimes I get an impression that his critics demand him to be perfect and are just waiting on something to jump on and point that he's wrong here and that. Come on, he's also a human being.

My thesis is in polish so I don't think he'll read it :D I gave him just my literature with some most interesting research highlighted.

Thanks Abi for your comment and resteem <3

Hi @abigail-dantes. If you respect him he will certainly get a longer look from me. So far, I have read not much about him that is positive--but it's only been five minutes :) I did check out the post you referred to about aggression in children. His view on this certainly seems reasonable--not an extreme view at all.
In any event, I'm curious now and will have to look further. There's no excuse for ignorance about a personality with such popular thunder.
I'm looking forward to your blog on Friday!

Hello my dear 😊 It is always nice to hear from you :)

But first, let me thank you for having a look at that post.

As for Jordan Peterson ... I happen to know more his work, than what has been said about him out there. I like very much how he integrates the social world, biology, history and even religion to psychology. And similarly to Saunter here, I identify with this sort of approach very much, as I believe that as individuals we can draw lessons from each and all of those contexts. Is that scientific? No. Do academics like that? No. But then again, it is not them he is addressing through his social media, talks across the globe and self-help book (on the contrary, his papers on child development are the result of rigorous research and scientific methods).

So, that leaves us with the general public. Now, we live in great times where people can manifest their true selves and voice their heartfelt opinions. What an achievement for the minorities! However, for them (the minorities) to get here much suffering took place. And perhaps, because of people who 'look like' Peterson. Consequently, there is very little tolerance towards anything that is not in accordance with them, especially when it comes from those who 'look like' Peterson!

For example, Peterson is an advocate of the inherit biological differences between men and women. Feminists and other women alike perceive this as him putting us down. But, really, what he never said, as far as I know, is that being different put us automatically in a better vs. worse position. The past tells us that. Not Peterson. Indeed, he says women should have children, that they shouldn't wear make up in the work environment, and gives his reasons for that. For me, those are nothing more than his personal opinions; which, whilst I find outrageous I respect because they are honest.

And, I think that is our problem, overall. We only like 'honest' when it coincides with what we think. When someone like Peterson exposes himself the way he has done and finds himself having to answer questions that touch on incredibly sensitive topics ... well, he is bound to offend people. Then, the division sets in. I have personally felt offended by some of his opinions. Still, I have learnt to look at people from a wider lens, and I also respect individuals who take responsibility for what they say. I think Peterson does that quite well.

Oh! You see... you make me 'talk' my dear :) And, I am not really a talker!
Anyways ... here is a Monday kiss for you 😘

As always, you are a delight. Please do talk. I'm not much of a talker, either, but I do appreciate individualism and I think labels can be a kind of tyranny. They don't allow for subtlety or nuance, which truly characterize thought and human interaction. I remember being mortified when I read about Goethe's personal life--because I thought it did not reflect well on him. But his work is still brilliant, and valuable. The same with Robert Frost. He was apparently a cruel husband--but a prolific and effective poet. So...life is not yes or no. There are, of course, some views and behaviors that would invalidate someone's opinions for me. I don't expect to find that in Peterson. But I will let you know. Thanks for the 'conversation' :)

I would have proposed to him! 😏

Keep your hands of him, he is mine !

Oh! I see ... 😏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63672.27
ETH 3126.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87