You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 25 | Depression through the lens of CBT & the case study of Mr. B.

in #psychology6 years ago

@therightsideofup, again, THANK you so much for taking the time to teach us so much about a reality that is so far-fetched to, I dare to say, all of us here taking part in this debate. Throughout your post I was first, particularly touched by this:

Also, in my experience, I've learned that PTSD in combat veterans seems to have a common theme; most having already dealt with a previous traumatic experience, (being molested, raped, abuse, alcohol and chaos in the home; which is where I'd fall in, the alcohol and chaos and fighting.)but a horrible job of training us to come back, and re-integrate into society

Now, I want to look for literature that addresses this reality! Books, papers... etc...

I have com across this information before.

Also, in my experience, I've learned that PTSD in combat veterans seems to have a common theme; most having already dealt with a previous traumatic experience, (being molested, raped, abuse, alcohol and chaos in the home; which is where I'd fall in, the alcohol and chaos and fighting.)

This is also something worth looking into. Considering that so many have these common aspects I would be particularly interesting in learning how their expectations from the experience they are going to encounter are similar.

I read your post about your experience Psilocybin mushrooms, I found it very enlightening.

Thanks for your always kind, encouraging words about my work!
All the best to you :)

Sort:  

Any time! You put out high-quality, thought-provoking material on a subject that interests me. It was interesting, to realize that other Veterans dealing with PTSD had some type of significant trauma, buried deep in their past. It took another traumatic event, such as combat or the clean-up crew that had to literally pick up body parts of their friends after an IED blast. The band-aid of Time was ripped off, reopening old wounds, and adding a few more to it. Of course, the other aspect is support, and sadly, many had support systems that were failing, or just didn't believe in PTSD to begin with. The Veteran community even cannibalizes itself on this topic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59