You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Origin of Psychological Trauma

in #psychology7 years ago

I had the pleasure of knowing my great grandmother, who was born in 1892 and died in 1991, just 4 days after her only son died and 6 months before her 100th birthday. One thing I remember about her was how much joy she found in the simple things. Life in general was simpler back then, and the stories she told were always about family and community, rare commodities these days.

Someone from her era being dropped in to todays world would likely be traumatized by the way we live now, just generally. Not having been desensitized with the incremental changes over the passage of time.

Sort:  

Mi bisabuela nació en el 1900 y murió con 94 en 1994 y mi abuela ahora tiene 90 años y porque no ve bien, pero son lo mas grande, las historias de la guerra! yo firmaba ya para estar como mi abuela que tiene tantas ganas de vivir, que no me imagino que por su edad un día por resfriado como le paso a su madre se vaya!
te mando saludos, soy nuevo por aquí.

I resonate with your comment @aboutyourbiz & thought I'd say that I've decided to follow you just on this alone! Looking forward to reading more from thinkers such as you.

Your comment caught my attention, and since your rep was 53 and not 25, (you know, the whole f4f nonsense) I figured I'd check you out. I'm glad I did cuz I think I may be interested in some things you have to say too!

Thank you kindly. Yes I've certainly seen a lot of the Follow For Follow mentality and have steered quite clear of that approach.

I am of the opinion that my content alone should attract followers and if that means I am slow to obtain them but I end up with a more content-driven follower base then I'm all the richer for it.

In fact the very fact that I am discerning was my motivation for announcing myself to you in the first place as following is not something that I tend to do trivially.

Again, thank you for your considered input and I look forward to looking up to your reading expectations 👍

I don't know if this is the kind of thing you would be interested in, but I joined this challenge today https://steemit.com/challenge/@merej99/putting-my-money-where-my-mouth-is-a-community-challenge#@aboutyourbiz/re-aboutyourbiz-re-merej99-putting-my-money-where-my-mouth-is-a-community-challenge-20170709t024245280z

I see you're new like me and something about this intrigued me so i joined. It's not too late if it interested you too. I don't even know why I'm telling you this, oh well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70568.35
ETH 3813.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50