You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: From Anti-Vaxers to Alfie's Army: Have we lost faith in medical science?

in #psychology6 years ago

So many conflicting thoughts as I read this. I'll start with this one:

Alfie’s lived experience would be equivalent to that of living with a neuro-degenerate disease such as dementia

This goes to the heart of shared values. The problem here is with how the medical community decides on the value of a life--most of us have a personal idea about what a life worth living looks like. The medical community made the decision that a person with dementia does not have a life worth living. This is a value judgment. It is conceivable that many people will disagree with this judgment.

And then there's another aspect of value judgment--healthcare professionals make judgments based on overall social good. When it comes to vaccines, there's herd protection. It is acknowledged that a certain number of individuals may suffer an adverse event with vaccination, but overall, society is protected. An awareness of this value that the medical establishment places on the public good, rather than the private good, does affect trust.

Finally (no, it's not actually the last point I think of but it is the last one I will inflict on you), we are all aware of the financial aspect of healthcare. Resources are limited. Choices are made not always based on ideal outcome but often with an eye to what that outcome will cost. An awareness of this dynamic does affect public trust in the healthcare establishment.

This is a great post. You are in such a responsible position. Often choices, decisions, will come your way that have no comfortable path forward. I respect you for choosing to be in such in important role. I do trust you to act in the best interest of others, as you understand it :)

Sort:  

@agmoore, thank you again for another thoughtful and nuanced comment.

You are in such a responsible position... I do trust you to act in the best interest of others, as you understand it

I wouldn't trust me now but 20 years from now hopefully I'll be mildly useful to society, that's the plan at least. Also that's if I survive in this line of work until then, way to much work at the moment. I don't even think I'll have time to blog this week!

Hope you're well, it always nice when I see you pop up in the comment sections of the other articles I read here.

Stick to it, please. We need your conscience and good thought in this very important work. You never know when you influence a decision or a plan, simply by being in the room and giving feedback.
And thank you for the kind words :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57453.27
ETH 2928.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67