You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Love and War. Brothers and Sisters. Part 3

in #psychology6 years ago

very very well @insight-out, I vividly remember your previous post

From the very beginning of his life, the older brother has always been taller, faster, smarter, and stronger.

I saw this in many families from my high school down to college. Is there a reason or science to this?

I see a serious point in Toman's conclusions. Especially in the sister-brother relationship, because I have seen that happen over and over again.

Sort:  

Thank you very much for reading and commenting @akiripromise!

I saw this in many families from my high school down to college. Is there a reason or science to this?

It concerns childhood experience - an age gap of one, two or more years is a huge one when you are a child. Thus, the older one is always ahead of the younger one. As psychoanalysts (and many other psychological perspectives) believe, early childhood experience forms who we are. Even if brothers are grown-ups already and these physical and cognitive differences don't exist anymore, the idea of the stronger brother could remain as part of one's view toward self and others.

I see a serious point in Toman's conclusions. Especially in the sister-brother relationship, because I have seen that happen over and over again.

I was surprised to realize that Toman's description of sister-sister relationships applies quite accurately to my sister and me :) That is why I decided to present his work :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62422.21
ETH 3177.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78