You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is the stunning Bouba-Kiki effect?

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Wow, this is quite an interesting article to read.

My native language is Yoruba. A major language spoken in a country in West Africa (Nigeria).

Your article really gave meaning to some things I've been experiencing for some time now. I've discovered over time that when a name is mentioned, I can predict the features of the bearers face.

Conversely, which is more interesting, is when I see some persons' face, I could correctly predict their name. It's somewhat funny, but it's true!

Big ups for sharing! Thanks.

Sort:  

Thank you, @alexoyebade, I'm glad you found the article interesting! 😊

Experiments suggested that facial appearance does to a certain degree depend on social expectations of how a person with a specific name should look like. If someone has a very rough name, his/her face will tend to be more serious, while if someone has a cute, round name, his/her face will tend to be cute and smiling.

I see that you are new on Steemit - good luck and keep up with the thoughtful comments! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62777.17
ETH 2951.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59