You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Your Strong-Willed Child Wants You To Know

in #psychology7 years ago

As a father of my own little 2 year old boy. I can completely relate. Everthing is 'No Daddy' luckily my wife with her teaçhing bacground is teaching me the tools not to go mad. If he says 'No' always give him a choice of two things that are both preferably to you. Eg. 'Do you want carrots or cheese?' He feels empowered to make a choice, you get him to do what you want, which is to eat. It sure is a learning experience and the hardest most rewarding job I've ever done.

Sort:  

My toddler is two as well, I know the difficulties! I think parents feel that they simply need to discipline their children, which don't get me wrong, we do need to! But at the same time we forget that they are human beings with their own emotions and opinions, which we need to respect. Sounds like you are doing an excellent job though!

Thanks, I'm doing my best but sometimes it feels like it would be easier to herd cats. I think alot of toddlers problems is that they don't have to tools to express themselves and the frustration comes out as a tantrum.

Ha ha, herding cats, I like that, and know what you mean! Yup, I agree, most of it comes down to frustration.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69331.49
ETH 3676.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.24