You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 27 | Discussing Misconceptions about Psychology

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Psychology only studies sick people.

I strongly disagree to this idea because in my opinion, you first need to have a concept of what is normal before you can know what is abnormal. Applying this thought to Psychology, Psychologists can only determine who has a mental illness if and only if they have a standard of a psychologically healthy mind. And in order to have that, they have to continuously study mentally healthy and unhealthy people alike.

And to participate in your positivity corner...
_**I would not change for anything in this world, the physical, psychological, and mental abuse I have received from my eldest sister when I was a child until adolescence. Because that experience is what made me compassionate, understanding, caring, and loving person that I am now. Knowing how painful and hard it was, made me promise to myself that I would never do those things to others, and in every way that I could, help prevent other people in experiencing that kind of pain and hardship.
It may be a little gloomy for a positivity post, but it's the thing that I wouldn't change for anything in this world. And the outcome was very positive, isn't it? Hahahhaha

Thank you for another worthwhile post @abigail-dantes!

**Hugs and kisses! :) **

Sort:  

It is indeed the outcome that counts my dear :D

If only people could have the emotional strength and resources to look back at their difficult times with a positive outlook, there wouldn't be so many people falling victim to their traumas and defining themselves through it. You are truly beautiful @annepage

Also, thank you so much for writing down here your rationale on the studies of psychology! Beautifully through through.

A big hug and many kisses back to you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63878.79
ETH 3133.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85