The psychology of evil : Money or Poverty??

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians!!! In this writing I would like to explain what is making human beings evil.Is that money or Is that poverty..ok lets see it..

You have to make up your mind if you want to make money or make sense, because they are mutually exclusive. We often listen to these statements

"Money is dirty."
"People with money are greedy."
"Businesspeople are crooks."
"The love of money is the root of all evil."

While growing up we do heard many comments like those above, and we still hear them today. No doubt about it, money is definitely a hot subject and because this subject is such a controversial and emotionally charged one. But it finally dawned on us that our ignorance about money is the root of much more evil than our knowledge of it could ever be. So I decided to go ahead with writing this and I am worrying about what people might comment after reading this.
As a child, it did not take me very long to recognize the lure of money. At the age of about two years, I was spanked for putting a penny in my mouth. I did not know what the words "dirty" and "choke" meant, but I soon found out. I could feel the emotion in my mother's voice as she lectured me about this thing in my mouth she called a Penny. From that day on I knew there must be something special or magical about money, since my mom didn't throw the penny away like she did with most other things I put in my mouth. She carefully placed it in a safe spot.
debt-1500774_1280.png

The power of money continued to be reinforced everytime when one of my grandparents gave me a piece of paper with green printing on it. 1 learned that such pieces of paper had a special power because everyone around me would "Ooooh" and "Aaaah" and exclaim how lucky I was to receive them. I do not remember my first purchase but I must have enjoyed it because before the age of five I was hooked on money and its apparently magical power to get me the things I wanted.
But this was also when the confusion set in. I really didn't understand money. There truly seemed to be a mystery surrounding it. I only knew I wanted it.
I remember being scolded for asking my granny for money. Thats when I first heard the words "ungrateful" and "greedy." I didn't exactly know what these words meant, either. But I could sense I had done something bad, and it frightened me. I didn't want to be a "bad" boy and have my parents angry at me. I just wanted the toys and other things that I knew money could buy. None of this made much sense. How could something that seemed to make so many people happy and excited be so bad?
The confusion increased the first time I encountered a checkbook I was about ten when I realized my parents could write a check for any amount instead of paying with cash. I thought I had hit the mother lode. People didn't need cash; they just needed checks. One day I remember asking my mother to buy me something. She responded, "I don't have any money."
"That's okay," I replied, "just write a check."
This time I got more than I bargained for. My parents sat me down and attempted to explain how checks and the banking system worked. My confusion only increased. But I was determined to someday figure all this out.
Not long ago I was reminded of this early lesson in the meaning of money when I saw a plaque in a gift shop which read, "How can I be broke? I still have cheques left." I chuckled as I recalled my mom and dad attempting to explain the banking system to me. money-1302835_1280.jpg

In my study, I have come to see that I am not alone in my effort to demystify the mighty currency. A great many people in this world are confused about money even those who have lots of it. In fact, I am convinced that confusion about money causes the majority of our world's problems.
What is most frightening and disheartening is that many of the people who handle large sums of money bankers, stock brokers, administrators and politicians ate often the most confused, yet pretend not to be. If you doubt this, just look at the fiscal condition of our banks, savings and loan associations, governments and businesses. It is hard to deny that where you find a lot of money you will also find a lot of confusion, greed, and unfortunately evil.
The first lesson we absolutely must learn is that money itself is not evil. It is simply a tool, just as a pencil is a tool. A pencil can be used to write a beautiful love letter or a memo firing someone from a job. While a pencil is designed to write with, it can also be used as a lethal weapon to stab a person in the eye. The thing that makes the difference isn't the object, but the motives of the person holding the pencil or handling the money.

Reverend Ike, a Southern Baptist preacher says: "It is the lack of money that is the root of all evil."

We cannot afford to keep people ignorant about this subject any longer. Money is a tool of business and what activity is not associated with business in some way or another? Churches, charities, computer companies, governments, music stores, museums, schools, weapons manufacturers, sports teams, family homes...the list goes on and all of them are all businesses. Money comes in and money goes out; whenever that occurs, we're talking about business. I know many people who hate business and everything it stands for. But these feelings are nothing more than the byproduct of our confusion and ignorance about money certainly not our knowledge of it.
We need to think in our mind about something a little bit

1)Why does our educational system do such a Poor job of teaching us about money?
2)Why did our teachers resist teaching about it, and why are our children's teachers still resisting?
3)Why do people who should know better continue to support the old?
money-2696229_1280.jpg

Myths that there is something inherently dirty about money. Could it be that the people running the schools have never learned about it themselves? If that's true, we desperately need to make some changes. Directly or indirectly, our continued ignorance about money is causing long-term damage to generations of people.
Can Success Buy Money?
Let's say that 20 percent of students who graduate from high school learn about money and go on to do very well for themselves. That's undoubtedly a generous estimate, but let's assume it's somewhere in the ballpark. Some would say that this 20 percent success rate was pretty good. But how good is it if it means that the remaining 80 percent will continue to be confused about money, and go on to lead less-than-fulfilling lives?

The really serious side effects of neglecting the subject of money in our schools seldom appear until nearly 20 years following graduation. That's when most adults begin to notice that their careers are plateauing and the dreams they once had are not coming to fruition. The tension and the disappointment and the desperation continue to build up as the person nears retirement. For many people, especially those of the baby boom generation, retirement will be a nightmare, not a dream, because they simply never learned the basic principles of money.
What will it take for us to fully realize that the success of our educational system cannot be measured in terms of our academic standing on the day of graduation, but that we must measure it according to how it serves us for our lifetimes?
The principles of making money are surprisingly simple, you don't have to be intelligent or well-educated to be rich, We need no verification of that. Most of us know at least one wealthy person who is neither educated nor smart. In fact, judging by the number of poor people with Ph.D.s, higher education must actually be a hindrance to financial success
woman-1733881_1280.jpg.

I have learned a lot about money and there is no doubt in my mind that financial success requires very little knowledge. If you got through the second grade you have enough education to become a millionaire. Truly rich people not those who do it with mirrors that is, with loans, leveraging and manipulating other people's money simply have different habits.
So, you may ask, if the principles really are that simple, why aren't they taught in school? For that I can break that into four possible explanations:

Possible Explanation # 1

If everyone knew the principles of money, education would be forced to let go of its biggest lie that you have to go to school to be successful. That lie could be the most successful PR job in the history of advertising. People have continued to believe it in spite of overwhelming evidence to the contrary. Nobody has ever proved that there is any correlation between formal education and success. Quite to the contrary. I have a college degree but it had little to do with my financial success. In fact, much of what I learned after second grade had to be unlearned along the way before I could enjoy the success I enjoy today.

Possible Explanation # 2

If people knew the principles of money, schools could no longer use fear tactics to motivate students to study and memorize irrelevant, boring subjects.

Possible Explanation # 3

Businesses of the world would lose their cheap labor. If everyone understood money they could easily make all they wanted or needed without ever becoming an employee. There would no longer be any 1 paycheck slaves, and the companies that still depended on them would have to close their doors.

Possible Explanation # 4

The educational system honestly does not know about the principles of money.

Poverty:The Real Root of All Evil

Just imagine what kind of world this would be if everybody understood money, if there was no longer any confusion and desperation about it. We'd have less crime—less street crime as well as less white collar crime in business and government. All crime, white collar or street kind, diminishes everyone's wellbeing, ultimately creating desperate people, then filtering down, creating more street crime. We build more jails with our tax money. handcuffed-1251664_1280.jpg

Jails mass-produce smarter crime since prison is merely a "graduate school" for the advanced study of crime. Seventy percent of all inmates in federal penitentiaries fail on the outside, are arrested again and return to prison for "refresher courses," Are they successful in their quest for money? Recently, a criminologist told that the average lifetime earnings of the total criminal population is about one third of the country’s poverty level. Is it possible that if we started educating young children about money, we would have fewer criminals in jail and less crime and greed in business and government?
Everyone should think of this issue and we hope the system in which we learn from our child hood may change. I am not telling that conventional education is bad but some of the subjects regarding money should be added in the curriculum because money is important from our birth to death.

i hope that you guys like this writing and if u want to see more of my updates follow me @bharathpreetham. If u have any doubts or if u wanna add some more things that make this post better one u can comment them below. Always becool and stay healthy are my priciples.keep smiling guys..
smiley-1691279_1280.jpg

The pictures i used were taken from pixabay.com under creativecommons

If u want to read my introduction post please go through this link :
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@bharathpreetham/my-journey-began-on-steemit-here-is-the-story

If u want to read my story on emotional intelligence please go through this link :
https://steemit.com/psychology/@bharathpreetham/learn-the-power-of-emotional-intelligence-and-stay-healthly

if u want to read my story on why does most people die poor? please go through this link:
https://steemit.com/motivation/@bharathpreetham/why-most-poeple-die-poor-does-money-matter

steem gif.gif

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @bharathpreetham to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

welcome to steemit @bharathpreetham, best regards..
hopefully you feel at home here. 😊

yeah thank u so much .

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bharathpreetham from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 0.20 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This is a great inspiration . Best of luck --- and keep going

Very interesting article! Great one to read! Looking forward to reading more great ones from you, followed and upvoted! If you could take a look at my channel too. Good luck!

great inspirational post.... keep going ....dear

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61553.99
ETH 2881.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54