You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Recontextualing Crazy: Enlightenment Beyond The Borders Of Judgement...

in #psychology7 years ago

Well, as someone who's already a card-carrying member of the "crazy" people, certified by a U.S. Court, I have to say that you give the topic more consideration than your average bear. Upvoted & Resteemed.

Here are some of the other people I spent time with in the mental hospital:

  • A Certified Public Accountant (6-year degree)
  • A Nutritionist (4-year degree)
  • One of my doctors was a recovered Shizophrenic
  • Another one of my doctors was Bi-Polar
  • A Fireman
    *A Police Officer
  • A Pastor
  • An Electrical Engineer (4-year degree)

Breaking down can happen to anyone, from any cross-section of the culture, for a variety of reasons - usually involving personal pain, loss, addiction, and/or abuse of various kinds. I lierally met thousands of different people in the State Hospital during my 13 & 1/2-year stay. Here are the statistics:
1/3 will get better, with the right medication - or without it
1/3 will sometimes do better than at other times, with the right meds
1/3 are not helped at all by any form of treatment
I was one of the lucky ones - medications & other behavioral therapy helped me to recover most of my former self.

Sort:  

Having gone through a period of being "crazy" myself, I came to the same conclusion you did:

Breaking down can happen to anyone, from any cross-section of the culture, for a variety of reasons

glad you made it through.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70568.35
ETH 3813.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50