The Belief In GOD vs. Spirituality (And How It Changed My Life)

in #psychology4 years ago

Does God Really Exist & Why Would ANYONE Believe In Him/Her/Them?

Growing up Christian, I've always struggled with the idea of a singular, all-knowing GOD

We went to church on Sundays, attended Catholic school from the ages of 4-18, and I ALWAYS asked myself - is there really a man with a long white beard watching my every move?

Now, specific religious nuances aside - I want to address a question that is a product of the spirituality vs. religion debate.

religion vs spirituality.png

What's better for YOU?

kisspng-index-finger-the-finger-youtube-hand-you-5abab43e84fe76.5468554215221852785448.png

Sadly, I can't answer that directly.

What I can do though, is share my own experience and hope it helps someone find clarity in their own search of the truth.

A bit more of my own backstory with spirituality-

After the catholic school days were over, I got lost in my own personal struggles (which is 100% of my own doing).

I started drifting away from organized religion, I started drinking, smoking, and overall turning myself "off" from the rest of the world. It was a dark time, but deep down I knew - the only way out is through.

Wait, How Does That Even Tie Together?

Well, when I first discovered the term spirituality I didn't think anything of it. I associated it with hippies and a whole lot of poor judgment.

But finally, I was beaten down enough (mentally) to just let go.

I let go of trying to control everything and everyone in my life - and I accepted things as they were. And in itself, was a beautiful thing.

With the stigma of religion still stuck in my mind, I started leaning on spirituality as my escape. At this point you may be wondering - okay well what in the world am I talking about/what is my conception of the term spirituality?

This is a bit tricky, as words can be deceptive and I'm certainly no wordsmith. But to oversimplify it - spirituality to me is being connected.

Connected to everything, and everyone as a whole. I personally believe we humans are all one singular unit having our own unique experiences. But again, as a whole.

With this outlook, I've been able to understand my wife, my abusive father, my mother, and almost (I'm still human after all) everyone in my day-to-day life.

God vs. Spirituality

In my opinion, we are all "God".

But I'd like to know what you all think. Are we all connected? Or do you believe in a singular God/multiple Gods?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61785.67
ETH 2891.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54