You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Addiction – An Overview

in #psychology6 years ago

Hello Abby,
By now you have probably noticed that I'm very bad at timekeeping. This is not to suggest that I show up for appointments late. Rather it is to insist that whenever I can postpone an event, I tend to do so and this tendency increases with the importance of the event and the absence of a suitable time line thereof.

Addiction, addiction! I'm seated with a bottle of coke, finally relaxed enough to read your post. I had to put off reading it until this moment because I know that I would be unable to finish it if I didn't find a suitable time. Speaking of addiction, the closest thing I have to an addiction is Coca-Cola. A not-so-distant second is the Internet. I have been able to deal with my impending addiction to coke by deliberately refusing to drink it for a specified period of time. The idea was to see if I would totally forget to drink Coca-Cola as I used to at the end of the period. In every case, I have ended up realising that was never really addicted to coke because I do not suffer withdrawal and I do not have a high tolerance for it. However, it could be argued that whenever I have a choice between Coca-Cola and any other drink, I often choose Coca-Cola so in a sense, it is denying me the time I would have spent drinking something else:).

Concerning my addiction to the Internet, there has not been much I could do about it since I have been on Steemit. I discovered my Internet Addiction Disorder when I travelled to another city and my smart phone crashed around 7:00 pm in the night. I was restless throughout the night. I kept dreaming about different scenarios that would lead to my phone being restored back order. None of those scenarios was actualized. After that night, I made it a point to live without connecting to the Internet. Now, steemit would not let me do that anymore.

Even though, I do not plan everything like you do, I still like to have control. Addiction, in my opinion, limits an individual's ability to stay in control to a very large extent. This is why I avoid any behaviour or substance that lead to my addition. So, while I agree that addiction could be biological, it could also be as a result of choice.

I think that the incentive sensitization model explains how most addictions are developed.

It is nice to see you this week, Abby. I know that two weeks seems long but I'm also aware that if you don't take that lost, you won't be able to complete you posts.

Thank you for making it as interesting as always. I wish you the very best.

Sort:  

Ha! Coca-cola addiction, huh? By the way, this is an awesome photo you shared here. You have so many talents my dear @churchboy :) Now I am worried about your health because of all that sugar! Let's see if we can change that! Shall we? :) I am already jumping to the conclusion that your Coca-Cola addiction fits within the Rational Choice Model. Well, this is definitely the case of another good friend of mine who repeatedly tells me his life is much better with Coca Cola 😒

Our widespread internet addiction worries me because of one reason that I discussed with another reader here. We live in a world where behavioral addictions seem to be the norm; for example: internet, shopping, processed food and so forth ... So, we end up being pressured to follow a very unhealthy norm! Then we start to experience mental distress because of it, like with the example of when your smartphone crashed! For me that is a case of nomophobia, and just in case you haven't heard of it, here is a quick definition:

Nomophobia is a proposed name for the phobia of being out of cellular phone contact. It is, however, arguable that the word "phobia" is misused and that in the majority of cases it is another form of anxiety disorder.

I am so pleased to hear you consciously avoid behaviours and substances that could possibily lead to addiction. I suppose this is partly because of your personality! Either way, having this sort of awereness definitely puts you in advantage. So, let's see if we can start reducing the intake of coca-cola! 😉

Thank you for stopping by once again my dear, your support is invaluable!
All the best to you always. Lots of love :*

Dear Abby, you know I would quit coke for you :)

Yes I think that my coke addiction fits with the Rational Choice Model too. Whatever model it is, I am confident that it is an addiction I can kick. For one thing it is messing with my figure:)

We have all been so excited around here: my brother's wife had a baby boy!

I hope that your work will allow you do posts once in two weeks as you promised.

I don't need to know psychology to posit that you are an awesome human being. I knew that this reply would be here even before I came to check. My failure to reply immediately was no failure at all. I figured we have two weeks with which to talk to each other here so I didn't want to rush.

Thank you for your kindness. Being here does not feel like support: it feels love. I wish you and your family all the best and a little bit of warmth from Nigeria ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69061.75
ETH 3774.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51