The Anchoring Effect, a Pervasive Bias in our Everyday LifesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #psychology5 years ago

Hello Steemians! Today I will like to touch on a topic related to human psychology. However, before I go any further, I have a short survey for you. Answer the following questions in your mind and please do not cheat and jump to the next section without taking the survey. 😉

image.png

Source

  1. A store you pass by everyday is always selling their jeans at $60 per pair. Today, you walk by again and see that the same pair of jeans is now selling at $45! Would you buy it because of that?
  2. Your son have been getting 80 marks for all his mathematics tests and examinations so far. But today, he came back scoring only 65 marks. Would you scold him for that?
  3. A burger is selling for $3 and a cup of coca-cola is selling for $2. Standing in front of the counter, your original plan was to buy a burger. However, you noticed that the combo meal consisting of the burger and a cup of coca-cola costs $4. Would you buy the combo meal instead?

A Cognitive Bias

image.png

Source

How many "Yes" did you have? If you answered "Yes" to all 3 questions, then you are easily influenced by the cognitive bias known as "anchoring effect". The definition from Harvard is as such,

Anchoring is a cognitive bias that describes the common human tendency to rely too heavily on the first piece of information offered (the "anchor") when making decisions. During decision making, anchoring occurs when individuals use an initial piece of information to make subsequent judgments. Once an anchor is set, other judgments are made by adjusting away from that anchor, and there is a bias toward interpreting other information around the anchor

As you have seen from the survey questions. Anchoring effect has great impact on our daily life and it is almost impossible to prevent. Humans are susceptible to such bias because we often have to make decisions quickly. The easiest way will then be basing our decisions on information that we first know of without doing much research.

A very real example which almost happened to me was the time when I bought the Netgear mesh WiFi system. The price I saw from a local brick and mortar store was SGD 469. When I checked on Lazada (an online shopping site), the price was $420. If I was too caught up by the "anchor" price of $469, I would have thought the price of $420 is a steal and went for it immediately. However, I did further research and found that a cheaper price at $369. In this case, I managed to outdo the "anchoring effect" a little and get a much fairer price.


The "anchoring effect" is a powerful cognitive bias that influences our everyday decision. It may sound like it is a bad thing, but if you understand how it works, you will be able to use it to your advantage. For example, if you are shop owner, you can use it to entice shoppers to buy your goods.

The reason why I talked about this topic is because I will be writing a couple of articles related to this topic. One of which is related to Singapore's properties market and my views on it. So stay tuned and thanks for reading! Share your answers to the survey with me and let me know the one time which you fell for this cognitive bias.

steem-divider1.png

Projects/Services I am working on:


You can find me in these communities:

Sort:  

I think I am one of those who if I don't need it, then I won't get it. :-)

Haha.. that's very wise

Posted using Partiko Android

Super! I only answered the last question - yes. It was an interesting self-study!
Thank you, @culgin!

You are welcome and thanks for dropping by. I gave you a follow as well :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you!

hi @culgin

  1. No. I would not buy. I hate spending money hehehe :) But my wife probably would buy those jeans right away and forced me to wear them :)

  2. No. I would calmly talk to him and ask what's the problem as I believe that this is the most efficient solution.

  3. Again no. Burgers are junk but I still eat them sometimes. I would only drink coca-cola if it would be served with vodka and lemon :)

I guess Im not easy to be influenced. There must be a reason why my wife call me "stuborn as a donkey" :)

Cheers mate
Piotr

Great that you are not affected by anchoring bias. Many cannot do the same

Posted using Partiko Android

hi @culgin

My wife com @plain that Im a real jew and that is the reason why I would not fall for any of those marketing "traps"

ps. sorry for not replying to your email yet. will do it soon :)

yours
Piotr

I answered Yes to number 3 because it is such a good deal. Sometimes, we fall to such effects but what can we do? We must learn from our mistakes and move on. Upvoted!

Haha.. thanks for dropping by. How have you been?

Posted using Partiko Android

Buying STEEM every month since I'm working. I hope I can buy more before the bull markets pick up.

yes, the world is more dynamic than our minds, our references

Yup, there are many fallacies, bias and tricks that our mind plays on us.

Posted using Partiko Android

Love your writing style and how you use life example.
And my answer was yes no and yes. I'm a little biased I think.

Thanks for the support @rem-steem! Without knowing the bias, my answers would have been "yes" for all. Haha..

Posted using Partiko Android

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 12.38% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Hi @culgin!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.337 which ranks you at #7470 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 132 places in the last three days (old rank 7602).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 271 contributions, your post is ranked at #74.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84