You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are smart PHONES destroying smart COMMUNICATION?

I have to agree with you that the two sides to this "convenience" are more apparent every day. Back when I was single, I often went to the grocery store late at night. Our stores here were open 24 hours a day. It was cool at night. I enjoyed the drive. I could shop when the stores weren't noisy and crowded. I'm a night-person anyway ... and it was a great way to run my life. Not just less stress but actual enjoyment of the experience. The fact that I had a cell phone I could use "in emergencies" made life great. If I had a flat tire or some weirdo started following me, I at least had the illusion I could call for help. I was not at the mercy of Fate.

But I finally ended a friendship with a woman who could not have dinner with me for less than an hour without answering her cell phone three or four times during the meal. Our conversation ground to a halt whenever her cell phone rang ... and finally I decided enough was enough.

No drama. No blow-up. No resentful confrontation. It was just clear to me where her priorities were ... so I was always, "Sorry, I'm busy that night, I'll get back to you" when she would call and suggest dinner. After a couple of those, we never spoke again. No problem.

Sort:  

That is how I ended most of my relationships with people too, no drama, never with drama. And I have one ex-friend that was just like yours and I ended it just like you :)

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.41$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59524.20
ETH 2999.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77