You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 47 | Putting Ourselves in Other’s Shoes

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Some Abigail-reading-time after I just got home from a weekend with my family:)

Reflection time:
➺ Have you ever found yourself responding judgmentally towards someone who was in clear distress?

Smile. My answer: yes. Absolutely.
It's really a great task to not do that. In my practice I am aware not falling into this trap. Within personal relationships it's much harder.

In German, we distinguish between the terms "empathy" ("with-feeling") and "pity" ("with-suffering") in normal usage. While compassion (empathy) allows me to maintain a healthy distance from what happens to another person, which is beneficial for my subjective sense of well-being, pity makes me feel too close and, as a result, I find myself under the same stress as the other is experiencing. This distinction may not be generally accepted, but it is likely to be widespread among pedagogues and social workers, counsellors and therapists.

So one could understand the statement "To go into someone's shoes is to take his shoes" in this way: If someone else's pain makes me walk in his shoes so much that I melt with pity and make his pain my own, then I don't see that person anymore, I only see myself and my own pain. The other person's pain is then no longer of special importance to me, because I identify myself completely with the pain I have observed.

If, for example, a friend grieves to death and desperately reports something that has happened to her and I slip into my own grief because of the grief she has suffered, then I am no longer of help to her, I cannot be, because I reactivated my own despair and helplessness in this moment. For example, if in this state I advised her to do something drastic, I would probably not really speak to my friend, but let my own feelings dominate, which made me consider this or any other unthought-through action.

I believe that this happens very often and that we take over other people's shoes to put them on. There is a funny saying here: "Don't put on that shoe". By that we actually mean that we should leave something (take a distance) to something that doesn't suit (us).

But to feel like we're walking in each other's shoes is different. It is to be able to change perspective and imagine feelings in the right measure of the other without feeling exaggerated suffering. I would say compassion (empathy) resists a judgment about someone's situation. If I manage to free myself from a judgment, then I don't advise and I don't suggest how another person can change his situation, but my interest is in the self-regulating forces of the other person. I ask: "What do you intend to do? How do you want to deal with it?" or "What have you done in order to get better in a former situation, similar to this?" Or I don't say anything at all and think about what would be good for the other person to do for him. For example a hug or silence or holding the hand. I must know him and know what he would like and only do this if I do not force it on myself.

In my training this was one of the traps discussed, into which a consultant can be drawn. If I notice that I am getting into the stress of another, then it is advisable to distance myself internally in order to keep a clear view of the situation. Nevertheless, I can feel deep compassion. Because without it I would not be able to respond appropriately to the emotional situation of my counterpart. For example, I don't need to melt with sadness when a client tells me about a recently deceased person. But I do remember what helped me in this or a similar loss. There is a difference whether I think of cried through nights or of what was healing for me to get over a loss.

The same applies to moments of bliss of others. For example, if someone enthusiastically tells me about his success, I don't have to jump into the air myself and dance through the room screaming, it's enough to heartily congratulate the other for the happiness he has experienced and to mean it.

Have a good week, Abi!

Sort:  

Hi erh.germany,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

That got me very much surprised this morning. Have not seen it coming:)
Thank you human curator & have a great day, too!

Great things, happen to great people! :)

My answer: yes. Absolutely.

Ahahahah , I have a special appreciation for honest people! 😆

Well, I briefly discussed some of the observations you made here with @dysfunctional, actually. However, we didn't go into the subtle differences of definition and behavior elicited by empathy and pity that you explained here so richly.

I do agree with you when you say that humans in general tend to get so involved with the suffering of others that the line between 'my pain' and 'your pain' gets blurred. Personally, I have seen cases of people who get in trouble with that. They completely lose sight and their sense of perspective, until they are surprised with the statement 'please stop! you are crossing the line'. This becomes so confusing to them, because from their point of view, all they believe they were doing was helping. But, again, using your words, that distance was no longer there anymore, and what initially began as an apparent act of help it turned into intrusion. It took me a while to learn this is a fine line to cross.

And the questions you delivered here (eg. "What do you intend to do? How do you want to deal with it?") are indeed great tools to avoid that from taking place. In my opinion they help to keep the reality of the context in check: This is your suffering, your pain. I understand them and it is through my emphatic understanding I can relate to it, but it wouldn't be right to make them my own. Neither for me, nor for you!

Ps: As a general rule I see my family every year. Even since I left my country (nearly 15 years) only once that wasn't possible to happen :)

Wishing you a great afternoon :*
Much love to you always and always ...
❀ ❤

Thank you, Abi, you put some good additions to this. I would call it the "helper syndrome" which does stretch itself not only between two people but as well between nations resp. cultures - it can be found in systems on a broader scale.

I learned only later in life, that helping does not mean to confuse the despair of another with my own and that I don't have to crack my mind and break my heart in looking for solutions. Don't know if I mentioned it already but my teacher once said to me, the moment I get exhausted and all caught up in a persons case that I ignore the persons own resources and abilities to find a way out of his misery. Let the client do his work.

I simply have to ask the other. That shows my trust in his ability to come up with own solutions. And who am I to know it better anyway? ;-)

The surprise you mention (thank you, that is such a fine example) to have crossed a border can be so embarrassing to a person. But even though it is a needed reaction and mostly people keep that in mind when a counter reaction was strong enough to show that there is a difference between pity and empathy. Once in a while we all need to be "disturbed" when the line was being crossed.

Will you get to see your family on Christmas?
Bye, dear Abi. Have a good evening:)

Next family gathering only in March 2019 now! ;)

Hey @erh.germany
Here's a tip for your valuable feedback! @Utopian-io loves and incentivises informative comments.

Contributing on Utopian
Learn how to contribute on our website.

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

What a day, I was thinking "Huh ... where is this now coming from?" After the @curie now another treat?" Funny day, today. Thank you! Much appreciated. Have to thank @abigail-dantes, as well, as she is my lucky charm here. :)

Oh Dear Erika :)

I just wanted to let you know I've seen your comment!
I will be available to reply to you tomorrow :*
I trust you had an awesome weekend :)

Thanks for letting me know.
Yes, had such a good weekend. Love my family. How often do you see yours?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63878.79
ETH 3133.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85