Daydreamers

in #psychology8 years ago

The man named Daydreamer lived in the suburbs of his state that he lived in since he was born. He was comfortable. He kept himself occupied. Video games. The internet. This was all he needed. He was low maintenance, and whats wrong with that. His favorite moments were listening to his favorite music or watching his favorite shows and movies. He didn't love his current job but he didn't hate it either. He was... okay. No need for change. He was already just so comfortable. Why disturb this comfort? 

He always knew he could be rich. He always knew he was a unique person with unique talents and perspectives.  But to put himself out there and risk the chance of failure seemed more painful than even trying in the first place. So now, in his late twenties, he'd rather not think about his unique talents and perspectives he could be offering the world. Instead, all he yearns for is his time alone when he can indulge in his favorite forms of escape. 

He never talks to the pretty female co-worker, the cute girl on the bus, or the sexy girl next to him at the bar. He doesn't travel to the wonderful places he see's on his favorite shows. He doesn't even participate in the political process of the democracy he lives in. He is just so comfortable. He feels so comfortable


Sort:  

Daydreamer, are you my brother?!!! Sometimes I think there is absolutely nothing wrong with comfortable. If it makes you happy, why strive to meet society's expectations?

Thanks for your comment! I'm less interested with societies expectations and more interested in how comfort keeps people from experiencing life fully and contributing their greatest gifts to the world. I personally find I am most fulfilled and create the greatest memories in moments of discomfort. I also find that comfort makes my mind function less efficiently while discomfort activates my mind more and leads me to grow.

I do understand where you coming from. Discomfort too, has spurred my growth. But if I look at someone like my brother, he is totally happy where he is, not a success by society's standards, but happy, which is also a success.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67235.68
ETH 3139.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73