You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology: A Brief Visit with the Stereotypes of Life

in #psychology6 years ago

Haven't we evolved beyond "men play with engines and guns and women play house?"

nope...and we never will.

Give a young boy (a toddler) a doll...and he goes all 'G.I. Joe' with it.
Give the same doll to a little girl (same age) she rocks it, cradles it and hugs it.

Sort:  

Not suggesting that "boy's shouldn't be boys" and all that...

What amused me was this example where it seemed looking at art was evidently "too girly" for these guys. And yet history (especially early) will show that the greatest artists were often MEN, not women: Michaelangelo, DaVinci, Rembrandt and countless others. The same with things like chefs/cooks...

How did we take something traditionally male dominated and in recent (last 50 or so?) years decided it suddenly was "girly?" That is the part that doesn't make sense to me.

the media...what can I say?

as always...the bell curve.


It applies to all large populations.

Consider men and the look at the chart.
'most men' fall in the middle (a certain degree of characteristics associated with masculinity)
Some are much less so.
Some are much more so.

I don't know about that @everittdmickey
I didn't like dolls and always stole my brother's Legos, Lincoln logs and K'nex set. He always got the cool toys. I'd rather change the oil in my car than play house. The "pink aisle" in Walmart gives me hives and there have been times I was jealous that guys can "whip it out" and pee anywhere, especially on long road trips. ps - I still identify as a girl (most of the time).

AHA! That would indicate that stereo types are invalid?

I seem to recall hearing the word 'tomboy' somewhere...and I say that with all respect.

I guess I'll always be a bit of a 'tomboy'. Hubby laughs when I try to convince him that I'm delicate. Girl moments never worked for me either. I've never been able to cry myself out of a damned ticket! LOL

Ooh, how about if we just live life in stereo?

stereo?
failure of imagination.
think quadrasonic or beyond!

dammit! You got me there. 🤣

Your reply reminded me of this photo I saw posted to one of those funny blogs 🙂

D3B38C0F-CAB7-46B3-86A7-4F5F05AFBC1C.png

yup...it happens.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63822.89
ETH 3083.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99