How stuck can one be in the status-quo?

in #psychology8 years ago

Sam1, a friend of mine, heard about bitcoin in 2011 from his friend Sam2. Both of them are Sam's, so I enumerate them. Of course, Sam1 dismissed it as a scam. Sam2 went on to make hundreds of thousands on bitcoin, and Sam1 continued to work from 7 to 3.

Now recently I told Sam1 about Steem, and as you might guess, he dismissed it as a scam. Can you imagine it? He is an intelligent guy, well aware of what he missed, and still refuses to consider anything but the status-quo. He's on Facebook and Twitter. Every time I meet him, he tells me about his ideas on how to make money. I'm just amazed. I heard the word "bitcoin" for the first time in 2014, after which I got straight into second generation crypto's. I immediately saw the huge potential. Same with Steem.

Are the status-quo supporters just people who don't bother themselves with the future, but live in the moment? That would explain his position.

Sort:  

Upvoted you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69123.03
ETH 3739.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69