You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 47 | Putting Ourselves in Other’s Shoes

in #psychology6 years ago

A great piece, Abi! Again!

I agree that one's empathy could hurt you. I think that could happen in a case you are empathic toward someone who isn't - like a mass murderer :)

Seriously now, there are people who lose their lives because they were empathic toward someone suffering and they tried to help. A few years ago there was a very sad incident in my country. Two men saw children drowning in the sea. They got into the sea in order to save them. They actually did it. They somehow managed to drag them near the coast so that the other people took them out of the waves. But unfortunately, both men couldn't escape the waves and drown. They both had children who lost their brave fathers.

I guess you are either empathic or not. I am skeptic about learning how to be (or not be) empathic. However, I am glad I am empathic and have this great experience of feeling a real connection with others.

Sort:  

Oh! What a heart-breaking story @insight-out 😧

Considering your extremely high score on agreeableness I did expect you to be a highly emphatic person :) It does come at a price, but like you said it brings elements to life that make existence much, much more purposeful!

Thank you for taking the time to stop by once again :D
I wish you and your family a great Saturday! :*

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64512.59
ETH 3174.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85