Control Your Dreams | How I became a Lucid Dream Master and How I forced myself to STOP!

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

Lucid Dreaming is when an individual is able to be consciousness inside it´s own dreams.
When you have a regular dream you brain awareness shuts down. On a Lucid Dream however, you are able to be aware, making your inner world a living alternate reality.

Why would I want to that?

Dreams are very real... at least when your dreaming, but dreams are just, essencially, thoughts that your unconscious mind has.
By realizing that you are dreaming, you turn what it was an unconscious process into a conscious process, while still making the process feel real.
In other words: you can do what ever you want! You are in control of this entire reality!
You can fly, you can build a city, you can have sex (lol), it´s your rules... it´s very very fun!

dream-333815_1920.jpg Image Source

Has you will see it can even help you get more creative and more confident!
There can be a down side to this (and that´s why I forced myself to stop) but I will talk about it later in the post.

What makes you a Master at this?

Have been having Lucid Dreams since I was 5/6 years old. I forcelly quit at 15/16.
I became interested at that age when I asked my dad "What are dreams?" because I dreamed alot when I was young. Has soon has he said to me that it was just thoughts that you have while asleep... I had the idea to control my dreams!
Because since you control your thoughts, and if dreams feel so real... wouldn´t it be awesome to control reality?
Well, I thought it was. So I lied to my friends that I did it! I don´t know why but I lied a lot has kid... (I guess it´s normal lol).
I said to them that I had a dream that I could control, and that I turned them into a giraffe and an elephant, and guess what... that same night I had a lucid dream!
I don´t really remenber what my first Lucid Dream was about. But do know why I had it.
Since I have done this for so long, I actually done my research on this topic, even though Lucid Dream and dreams in general is still kinda of a giant mystery to science.
But, from what I understand, whenever something becomes real in your unconscious, it becomes real to you! (and this is why I eventually forced myself to stop).
In fact, by just thinking about writting this text... I feared having a lucid dream, and I had one on Friday...
Anyway, by lying to my friends, and since I was 5 year old boy, I kind of fooled my self that could I could actually do it.
This is why placebos work for some people by the way, even though placebos don´t work, just the fact that your brain believes it does, it is sufficient...
I also understand why I dreamed alot has a kid. I will explained how this helped foward, but I´m not only a sleepwalker but I had frequent "sleep terrors!"
A Sleep Terror is when you essencially are having a nightmare but are awake. In my case, because would also sleepwalk during these. I used to run, take my clothes off, try to go to the streets, and punch anyone who tried to stop me (lol). Even though it was terrifying, you will see why this helped me alot in the process of dominating my dreams.

So, how do I have Lucid Dreams?

Since I praticed so much, I actually developed a method, and divided it in 4 steps (+1 optional). I also am super interested in this subject, so I did my research also to back it up (lol).

STEP 1 | REMEMBER YOUR DREAMS



You are actually going to Lucid Dream in the middle of a "normal" dream, so first you need to dream to then become aware inside of it.
It is now believed, that that you actually dream everynight, you can´t just remember it, giving you the illusion that it never happened! The best, absolute best way, to remenber your dreams is to wake up in the middle of sleeping!
Now you see why my sleep walking and night terrors were useful!
If you don´t want to set up a clock to force yourself to wake up, you could take a nap in the middle of the day or before dinner for the same effect.
The reason why this works is because you are more likelly to dream and to remenber dreams in REM Sleep.
Essencially, sleep works in cycles. And by waking yourself in the middle of one, or sleeping through the cycles that don´t interest you... you are more likelly to remember your dreams!
For this work, it is said that you need to wake up (or take a nap) after 7 to 9 hours of sleeping.
You will get this to work in a couple of days, maybe even after your first attempt! It´s not that hard to do.
Eventually my sleepwalking and sleep terrors stopped, but still had lucid dreams and dreams in general. In a couple of weeks, you will get so good at remenber dreams that you wont need to wake up your self anymore.

STEP 2 | BECOME AWARE THAT YOUR DREAMING



This part is a little harder to explain. To me what made me aware that was dreaming was the felling of my own skin! Your arm feels alot different in a dream, because you can´t feel it... (lol). But, you essencially need something that triggers you into consciousness. If your arm doenst work for you, try letters! Letters, words or phrases keep changing or plain dont make any sence in dreams! Your clock could work to, since time also doenst make sence!
Just pick 3 or 4 things that you rely upon to tell reality apart from dreaming, and eventually when you dream YOU WILL GET TRIGGERED! Also, eventually (in a month I would say), you wont need triggers anymore and you will "just know" that you are dreaming in the middle of a dream.
To get triggered inside a dream again... 1-2 weeks of pratice should do it.

STEP 3 | DONT WAKE UP



When you realize that you are dreaming... you become excited and that will, I garantee you will, wake you up immediately! And, if you wake up, you dont get to enjoy this thing that been practicing to do for so long.
You need to remenber that by Lucid Dreaming, you are messing your unconscious mind up by becoming aware you are basically saying your mind that you have woke up and boom... it´s over.
What I used to do in the beginning is I used to go slowlly, and think of a dream has a movie. What would make sence in a movie? Would it make sence for a girl (let´s say) to appear out of nowhere? NO! But you could, could turn around and she was right behind you right? That would make more sence. Or maybe you can walk around the corner of watever you are and find her! These tricks make your mind that you are still in your wataver your unconscious mind thinks you are and again remenber... watever your unconscious mind believes is true for you!
It is also a good idea to not do "giant things" at first, like fly! The act of flying might also excite you has soon has you leave the ground and boom... you wake up. Try with things that are realistic and make sence first, when you get the hang of it try the crazy stuff.
This will probably take a couple of months to really master.

STEP 4 | CONTROL YOUR DREAMS



Even thought you are lucid in a dream... doenst mean you can control it. You might only control part of it or not control it at all! You might even have Lucid Dreams where you dont even control yourself, which seems bizarre... how can you be lucid and aware and not control your self? Well... it happens (lol). I had dreams (more like nightmares) where I was conscious the all time but was "forced" to see stuff, like watching a horror movie... but I will talk about it afterwards...
Unfortunately, theres no "real" way of controling this. The problem is that you convinced your conscious mind that you are dreaming, but you havent convinced you unconscious mind. You just have to keep practicing and exeperimenting controling different more crazy stuff... and with a little luck on you side... you will be able to control MOST of your dreams fully in a month!

STEP 5 | KNOW WHEN TO STOP (Optional... also if possible)



Remember that you actually dream every night, you just cant remember it. And remeber the best way to remember is to wake up? Right. So, you dont want to wake up to soon and dont have a Lucid Dream at all, nor you want to wake up to late and dont remember it like it never happened! Make yourself wake up after you had your fun! I know it´s a pain but it´s worth it!
And this ins´t actually that hard... the easy way is to kill yourself! Or could do a thing that excites you alot! Maybe it´s a good oportunity to try something that always woke you up... (lol).
Also, wake yourself up is not an option sometimes, because you wont control fully EVERY SINGLE Lucid Dream you have... so take the chance!
Also, it inst necessary to wake up to remember a dream... it´s just a thing you should do has a garantee you will remember it!
IF YOU DONT REMEMBER A DREAM... IS LIKE YOUR NEVER DREAMED AT ALL!

Now you will get to have fully CONSISTENT Lucid Dreams EVERY DAY IN 5 MONTHS! Awesome good for you :D
Has I said... I FORCED MYSELF TO STOP DOING IT BECAUSE I COULD NOT HANDLE IT ANYMORE!

What happened?

Remember when I said that what is true in your unconscious is true for you?
When you get older, you get less and less dreams... that means less time to practice. That means you get excited more often. What happens when you get excited? You wake up!
I became such a pro at this that my unconscious knows that this happens to. So I had what its called fake wake ups!
I WAKE UP STILL INSIDE THE SAME DREAM! INCEPTION I KNOW! (lol)
This got so horrible that (you problably guessed) I would fake wake up multiple times! To the point where would I just not even enroll in the dream, I just killed my self instantly... JUST TO WAKE UP IN THE DREAM AGAIN! AND AGAIN AND AGAIN...
When eventually I woke up I would be terrified... I would get afraid to get to sleep again because again, my unconscious self knows it´s easier to Lucid Dream after you wake up!
Now a days, if Lucid Dream I just enter panic mode and kill myself without even thinking! (lol, it happened this friday...).

I would also get little afraid if I was trully awake or if I was still dreaming... but afcourse I´m not dreaming...

afcourse...



has always
thanks for reading :)
@itsmeemario

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @itsmeemario to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest(125 SBD in prizes)!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

A question that sometimes drives me hazy: am I or are the others crazy?

- Albert Einstein

@eileenbeach has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

    To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

    To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

@cryptohustlin has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66