You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 47 | Putting Ourselves in Other’s Shoes

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

What a beautifully written content, I quite concur that empathy can be learnt, while I was younger I use to feel less empathy for people, however I was may 17 or 18 I was already an advanced teenager and seriously I should've been to feel and learn empathy because I was already growing mature and still felt expression-less as a child but I had not but after reading this I discovered that it was as a result of the fact that I wasn't shown empathy as a child because i never grew up staying with my mum, I knew only animosity, prejudice and suffering and as I grew up I became vengeful and obstinate.
To me it was so worrisome when i had reached 20 and still can't find myself to feel empathy, it was just like you mentioned it felt like I was lost, however it only took good turns of event, progress with my business and interaction with good people that gradually changed me, it took at least four years to be able to feel compassionate, I must tell you, I learnt empathy because I was later shown it to me by people who's been there for me in my life, else I'll still be an adult and yet still be like young Lucas who was emotionless.

Thank you for bringing this splendid rhapsody this morning, it's been three weeks already and I'm so glad to enjoy this one from you @abigail-dantes I hope you've been doing okay and well?

Sort:  

Hello my dearest @josediccus :)

How nice to see your comment here once again. The first part of your discussion is particularly touching. Yet, it is also something that delivers hope! Your very account that empathy can be learnt during later developmental stages is very important for both the individual, and for their social environment.

Kindness most certainly begets kindness 😊

Everything is fine over here! Thank you so much for asking. You have such a great heart. I trust the same is true over there?

Much love to you from Portugal ❤ :)

of course @abigail-dantes your detailed post here gave me the chill and took me back memory lane to those years ago, you know I always relate my life events to your posts it's like you have a track record for always talking about me hahahaha well, I feel glad always reading, if it could be possible you could making two posts in a week it would be a marvelous delight.
Cheers! I'll be hoping to read again next week, I'm doing very good here 😀😀

OH! It pleases me very much to hear everything is good there :D
Please note that, at least until Christmas I will be posting only every other Friday. This period of the year is always very busy for me :)

Hmmmm then I'll be looking forward to Christmas, I didn't know you're in Portugal I thought you were in Brazil. Have a splendid weekend and well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64172.03
ETH 3144.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85