Talking to oneself: a mental illness?

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Do you speak to yourself? Sure, yes, we all do this, I talk to myself out loud all day, may I need to see a doctor because I'm sick? No, but this is an indication that I am self-organized, interactive and interested in myself, but it means that I will find what I'm looking for faster than you. If you insist on answering "no," talking to yourself is a common behavior, a linguistic process of thinking. We may speak to ourselves internally without speaking words, and this is what is called speech Inner, or the pronunciation of the words talk Self.That is often associated with the scene of a man talking to himself crazy or mental illness, and despite the existence of this type of Behavior in some schizophrenia patients or multiple personality disorder, but it is natural and healthy.

Psychologist  Sapadin Linda says: "Talking to oneself not only softens the unit but makes you smarter." [1] The article mentions four types of self-talk:

1 - Complaining: After a difficult task, you may say to yourself, "Peace, you are wonderful, I am very happy for you." You will not wait for others to praise themselves for your small achievements.

2 - motivational speech: "Hey, there are only a few pages left, I will complete reading this book and then I will go to reward myself with a dinner."

3 - Dialogue with the outside dialogue: You have received a message from a friend telling you that there is an offer to travel to Switzerland after two weeks. It is easy to come to a reasonable decision if you are talking to yourself: "I want to travel to Switzerland, but ... I do not have enough money, What do you think of the postponement of this project? But duration

The offer is limited, if I borrow so much from my father, will I be able to travel? "He said.

4. Setting-goal planning: When we hear others say "Bravoo" we will be satisfied with our business, but what if we were in a world full of empty juggling? What if people around us do not care about our goals? Talk to yourself, for example in this way "Listen, I've found out that smoking can make my life worse,

I love you very much, I love you so much, will you help me find a better life away from cigarettes? "And of course this is not directed at your close friend, but your closest friend: you.

People often speak aloud the names of the things they are looking for. "Where is this key? Where did you forget it? I remember putting him on the desk, but I ... " Children speak to themselves often [2] and chant the words they hear from others in their early stages of learning [3]. One study

Talking with oneself helps us to organize ourselves, to keep the objects we seek in memory working, to be aware of our selves [3].


In another study, they found that hearing what we were looking for made us find it faster. When looking for the number 2 in this series, 55555 people who heard "two" or "number five neglected" needed less time to find the number two. The reason is that when we hear a "book" - for example - we activate all the attributes related to this classification and remain present in our minds, and neglect any classification is not related, such as "Mobil or pen," and this speeds up the process of finding the book in an uncluttered room.

But if talking to yourself is healthy and good, it can be bad and sometimes sick. The direction of negative and derogatory words to the self "You are ugly, your outlook is disgusting ... I am a few talents ... I am not worthy of attention" will weaken our energy and reduce our achievements and may make us as liars. It is important to direct the whole words to ourselves

- This is something I do every day - and we should not worry that people abroad are always ready to criticize us.

Enjoy your voices.

Sources:

psychcentral.com/blog/archives/2012/12/07/talking-to-yourself-a-sign-of-sanity [1]

sapir.psych.wisc.edu/papers/lupyan_swingley_2011.pdf [2]

www2.mtroyal.ab.ca/~amorin/ISentryv3.pdf [3]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62