Conformity and the Reader

in #psychology6 years ago

Hey dear reader! A question… Do you have someone in your life that gets those impossible "the table is red" kind of moods when the table is clearly blue? That one person who fumes away as they insist on their stance that could easily be disproven by common sense or empirical evidence?

I think everyone must have one of these acquaintances lying around somewhere. And what do you do when such individuals begin to huff and puff? Do you fight until you reach that “Pyrrhus victory”, or do you fold? Or is it a more insidious influence that affects one ever so subtly and you come to find yourself conforming to another person’s influence only to sit back and gasp as you realize what you’d just allowed to happen?

But wait, the plot thickens! Are you an unwilling victim of social pressure put on by more than one individual? Let’s consider the well-known Asch conformity experiment. Only one person in the experiment is the test subject but the whole thing is set up so that several people are seated around a table. The experimenter then proceeds to show a series of cards with three lines of varying sizes on them and the participants are meant to match one of the three lines to the identical line on another card at the table. In all cases, one line is clearly the longest, for example, or the thickest, and can easily be matched to its doppelganger on another card and it doesn’t leave much to the imagination. Yet, every few rounds, the covert faux-participants would suddenly unanimously choose a card that was wrong, with a line that clearly didn’t match.

Would you have conformed, oh Reader? Well, about 1/3 of the test subjects did conform to the peer pressure generated. What does this tell us about conformity? Well, we shan’t chime in to the many criticisms this experiment already received but rather use it to make a point: sometimes, when everyone insists that the table is red, quite a few people will say (if not truly think): “perhaps the table is a rather warm shade of blue…”

And what does it matter if you do conform to some trivial matters, as you entertain the one pushy person or water your peers’ tribal mentality? Well, perhaps you can tell me, as you try to get that bad taste out of your throat while you scrutinize the color of that table you just metaphorically sat at… Conform to that demand, I dare you!

Have a wonderful day, week, and life!

Image sources: 1, 2.

Sort:  

What! You dared me, so I conform! But seriously, and weirdly enough, I've never ever considering conforming.

I've been shunned all the way through school and most of my family thinks bad of me. Yet, it never ocurred me I should act the way they want.

My self esteem must have never allowed me to put myself on a lower level than others without logical reasoning, I guess.

Sometimes I cornform as a phlegmatic offer to avoid conflict. It can be fake at times, but also saves me time..

Yes, sometimes it's the best option (if people will not be moved anyway). Don't do it too often though as people will see you as someone who agrees even though he disagrees. Agreeing when you disagree is not good for your self-esteem either.

Wow I never saw it like that. Thank you @walkinstairs..

Welcome. You need to stand your own ground (on your own principles) if you want to be yourself.

I use to be this person that normally conform to others will but as time passes I realises that I'm just putting others before me which ain't fair to me. I'm now change doing my own biddings for is what I want and now some people see me as stubborn for conforming to my own will and not theirs

I support you for standing up for yourself.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

I'd not bother driving a point if the people have not the capacity to understand from my perspective.

This post, with over $50.00 in bidbot payouts, has received votes from the following:

smartsteem payout in the amount of $46 STU, $96 USD.
promobot payout in the amount of $42 STU, $88 USD.

For a total calculated bidbot upvote value of $87 STU, $184 USD before curation, with approx. $22 USD curation being earned by the bidbots.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform @lifenbeauty and is by no means a judgement of your work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84