Freud’s 3 parts of personality

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

I guess a lot of you have some day heard of Sigmund Freud. If somebody doesn’t I will tell you.

Sigmund Freud (6 May 1856 – 23 September 1939) was an Austrian neurologist and founder of psychoanalysis. One part of it is that our psyche is divided in three parts that he calls Id, ego and super-ego. I would like to talk today in a quick overview about these three parts.

Id

The id is the part of our psyche that we are all born with. The id contains all biological drives like for example survival or reproduction as well as learned impulses in process of life. These can be separated in two kinds.

Constructive: Sexual impulses (this also includes everything pleasant) and basic energy of life
Destructive: Aggression, destruction, death

Freud claims that all drives and impulses are occupied with energy otherwise they couldn’t be succeeded. The id only carries about itself and how to satisfy those needs. There are no moral or any other thoughts.

Super-ego

The behavior of a baby is formed by its environmental influences which at the beginning mainly comes from its parents. An infant will try to adapt because it wants to be accepted by other people. However, it is important to pride the child when doing something right.
So, the super-ego arises through acceptance of orders, prohibitions and the so-called moral in a society.
It becomes a main part of a person’s psyche and is jointly responsible for preserving self-esteem.

Ego

The ego evolves between the both instances mentioned before. It conciliates between the demands of the id and the orders and prohibitions of the super-ego. The ego thinks, it’s rational whereas the id feels, being emotional.
As an individual has to cope in reality the intellect of a person is being evolved in its ego.

In the following picture, you can see how the three parts of personality are working.

Id_ego_super_ego.jpeg
Source

I hope you enjoyed this short overview. Thanks for reading :)


References

BIRKENBIHL, Vera F.: Kommunikationstraining: Zwischenmenschliche Beziehungen erfolgreich gestalten, 37. Auflage 2017
"Siegmund Freud", https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sigmund_Freud, 10 January 2018

Sort:  

Very interesting. Are you familiar with Socionics? I've stumbled upon Id, Super-Ego and Ego in that realm before, but don't yet know enough to explain it exactly. Something about one's Id being one's sixth function (e.g. Introverted Thinking = Ti). Please write more of these :) will give you a follow.

Hello! Thanks for catching up and for your positive reaction. I'm not a professional on this topic this is more like a hobby, personal and business interest but I have already heard that a some "Freudists" have further developed this theory although even today they all are only theories because human psyche is still a pretty young science compared to others and complex as well.
I have just posted a new article about such a further development. It will be a 2 part series about transactional analysis. Check it out ;)

I like your content! ;-) and ahm... you are nominated for Sevendaybnwchallenge! ^^

Aww thank you I really appreciate it. I am... nominated... for a challenge? Sorry I'm new to this I don't really get it^^

^^ Sure, I send you the link:
https://steemit.com/sevendaybnwchallenge/@brainnipper/sevendaybnwchallenge-day3 Just start today or tomorrow (I was late today) with day 1.

Thank you. I guess I got it now. Only a picture without text? Great I guess I'm going to find some free capacities for this :D

Yes, no explanations. Just the picture and your nomination and the rules. Just copy/paste them. Have fun! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 67414.73
ETH 3501.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18