You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do You Suffer from Magical Thinking or Other Strange Illusions?

in #psychology6 years ago

Generally speaking, I think we live in a 'drive-thru' world, where convenience is key. If something is too much work, it gets tossed aside as unworthy. People seem to want everything, without having to actually work for it.

I grew up on a farm and had a very strong work ethic instilled in me; I was also taught, that if something is too good to be true, ...well, you know the rest. Perhaps the convenience everyone enjoys has helped to create a lazy-magic-pill-wanting existence. That, and "our" seemingly endless supply of advertising touting perfection at the drop of a few hundred dollars. Whatever happened to aging gracefully, being flawed, looking different? Or like you suggested, actually going to that gym and working for the body you see in magazines?

I wandered off on a few different tangents there I think haha, but I'm sure you can connect the dots :) The world is often a "head shaker" for me, and I'm not that old to be referring to back in my day either :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64215.81
ETH 3150.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86