You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 25 | Depression through the lens of CBT & the case study of Mr. B.

in #psychology6 years ago

Great post, once again!

I would like my readers to accept is that psychology is not a field entrenched within the boundaries of psychoanalysis, and that talking psychology goes way beyond than talking Sigmund Freud and Carl Jung.

I think you're doing a fantastic job to prove that statement!

At the end of the 21-month-treatment, Mr. B, who had been completely avoidant, had finished a technical course, was about to start a six-month computer training, and had two potential job positions awaiting him.

I would call that a miracle treatment for it to work in such a short time.

Psychoanalysts argue that what this most likely will do is to actually make the ´suppressed´ symptom reappear in the form of ´neurosis´.

But then what if the symptom was not suppressed but eliminated? That would result in a complete cure.

Do you agree with the behaviourist notion that proposes that it is not the situation per se that causes emotional responses; but rather the meaning attached to it?

Depends upon the state of mind of the person and the way he perceives the situation. Yes, the meaning attached to the situation(in the person's mind) is of significance.

Whenever you feel sad or anxious do you also resort to strategies that alleviate the symptoms of your difficult feelings?

Good question! To answer it from a personal point of view, I have started doing it in the recent past, especially after I started flying off the handle at the touch of a button. Things are much better now, after I have learnt how to alleviate the symptoms. Hey, maybe I can be your client one day! ;-)

Sort:  

Ahahaha @maxabit! It made me so happy to hear you think I am doing well with broadening people's views about psychology! It made my evening :D
It is also great to hear you have managed to get yourself in check! We all need to self-evaluate every now and then.
Lots of love to you & thank you for your most invaluable support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62725.26
ETH 3221.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85