Look what you made me do

in #psychology5 years ago (edited)

I remember reading a long time ago a very basic concept related to our humanity: we strive to avoid pain. Of course, at face value it's simple, intuitive and reveals nothing that we didn't know, but when you begin to strip what pain means, then it gets really interesting.


taylor.png
img src

The pain of guilt, for example, is hard to define for most of us, but yet, it's very real and very painful. It's probably because it has to do with our psyche and our self worth, that we do almost anything to avoid feeling guilty. As a matter of fact, even when we act immorally, we find a good justification for it.

We can talk until we are blue in the face about the reasons why what we did, or someone we know did is justified, but at the core of it all, a wrong can never truly be right. This is very much so the case for everytime someone has said "look what you made me do".

The phrase is interesting at so many levels, because it allows for the perfect escapegoat to take the fall for the action, it releases any responsibility from the agent who committed the action and through a mental contortion it puts the victimizer in the victim's chair.

We see this in abusive relationships too often, and you would be hard pressed to find an abusive husband or wife for that matter, that committed the abuse just because they felt like it. It's more often the case, that they were driven into action by other person's actions, and thus a victim too.

Ridiculous? Yes, I know, but it's how our brain works, and it's how we play the victim game at times.

Sort:  

I think no one can force no one to do something. The thing happen because the person wants to do it from their own end.

Posted using Partiko Android

Excellent review @meno and you are right, this phrase can be used in different ways!

van.jpeg

That's actually one of my goals in life right there. That meme is motivational to me. It speaks to me on levels most cannot fathom.

No pain, no gain.

Blame and guilt are so tough to separate internally but is so unrelated most of the time. However, it feels that it is self imposing to do so as it make us feel better.

Posted using Partiko iOS

After some epiphany engendered by personal catastrophe, I have noted that no one can make me do anything. I have striven to eliminate in my mind any shred of feeling I can be forced to do things. I hope that's reflected in my life, as well as my posts and comments. Nothing is more empowering than realizing no one can force you to do anything. It is my intention to never feel - ever - that anyone made me do anything, and that my speech reveal that I am the sovereign of my life.

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63096.55
ETH 3032.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69