You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Origin of Psychological Trauma

in #psychology7 years ago

Another top post @kyriacos. What you're talking about here is a calibration of perspective. For many years now based on my observations of those I see in the real world, I've remarked to myself that I am glad that I'm not young at this time.

That sounds a bit funny I'm sure to the casual reader but as I observe young school children walking in packs, all heads down on their phones, breaking the trance only to remark to a neighbouring student about something on their display, I can't help but see fragility.

When one's entire social ecosystem and along with it one's entire calibrated view of what constitutes acceptable, good, desirable, undesirable, shocking or normal comes from an Internet connection & in many cases online friends, then any destruction in that mechanism would be perceived as a traumatic event.

Consider the basic example of your mobile phone battery going flat whilst everyone around you continues to live online.

Continuing with this student example, and without the appropriate life experience, this would be a world ending event.

Thank you for the insight and the thought provoking material as usual
@nolnocluap

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67859.32
ETH 3799.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67