You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADHD — A Manufactured Product of Our Times and Society?

in #psychology6 years ago

I think that ADHD-like symptoms are inevitable if you participate in the parts of life that have been computerized (newscasts being just one example in just one medium, television). I constantly have dozens of windows on several different browsers open at different websites as I sit in front of my computer - with cell phones and tablets also within reach. It is habitual now to click onto something else when I haven't yet finished the article or task I am working on. I think it might be fear of missing out on something important combined with the entrained habits from experiencing rapidly shifting images no matter where you turn your attention to these days (commercials, music videos, newscasts, movies, etc.).

I wished for a simpler life.....but I didn't get my wish :-)

Sort:  

Exactly. We generate SO much information, and if we consider the current exponential rate at which the information distribution is growing, we're simply going to run out of "functional" brain pace within a few decades.

As a result of which I find myself "unplugging" more and more, these days. I have to sit back and examine the deeper question of "What exactly am I missing out on, again?" Much of the time, it turns out to be nothing. Or just the fear that if I don't stay informed about everything, I might miss some important "opportunity." But really? Odds are I wouldn't have time to take that opportunity, even if it showed up.

¿ADHD? ...uhm, ¡Go figure!

That is precisely true!

Thanks for the laugh!

Thanks to you my friend. For always giving me the opportunity to snatch you off a healthy laugh through your thought provoking posts. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63897.91
ETH 3131.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87