You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Move forward by moving yourself forward...

in #psychology6 years ago

I always get some wisdom from your posts @galenkp. I love the truth in this statement:

the downs have made the ups so much more valuable. In fact, the bad times and challenges, have been valuable in themselves.

And then:

I've often heard the phrase, "life isn't meant to be easy" and whilst life certainly isn't easy I also don't think it needs to be hard.

I agree so much! We make things much harder than they need to be. So many things take on life & death scenarios in our minds, but in truth, the reality is far from that. Losing 'stuff' isn't necessarily bad. I'm sure it's stressful and difficult to manage, but at the end of the day, it's just 'stuff'.

I was reminded last week that we can't take any of our 'stuff' with us when we die. So why not forge an exciting and interesting life full of experience rather than acquiring all the 'stuff'...

I love the minimalist movement, where their philosophy is "love people and use things, because the other way never works". Unless the 'thing' is useful, or creates joy in your life, do you really need it? We hold onto so much stuff we just don't need.

I went on a bit of a rant there, didn't I? I enjoyed your post again. Thanks mate :-)

Sort:  

philosophy is "love people and use things, because the other way never works". Unless the 'thing' is useful, or creates joy in your life, do you really need it? We hold onto so much stuff we just don't need.

Nicely said. The episode I describe in my post was a really bad time for us and yet it brought us clarity, a fresh perspective and now, five years later, more depth in life.

I'm glad you find something of value in my posts. They are really only read by such a small audience that I wonder if there's any point and then someone like you finds some value and I say to myself, "yes, there is a point".

I go through waves as well. It's hard to continually post heartfelt truth....and it's hard to constantly keep in touch with the quality content I want to follow.

I find with my posts that more often than not one or two people find the inspirational posts. And that's all it needs. It's a ripple effect ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64266.51
ETH 3121.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.08