You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 7 types of NONverbal communication

in #psychology6 years ago

Great post, and really beautifully written!

Over the past few years I've begun practicing Tantra, which includes many non-sexual connective exercises. For me, the most powerful of those is "eye-gazing".

Just simply looking into someone else's eyes for an extended period of time (1-2+ minutes). This exercise was really uncomfortable at first, but now I've become so used to it, and I find myself looking directly into someones eyes more and more often when I speaking with them. I feel it has helped me connect and understand people more, and also to have more self-confidence!

I find that when I'm walking down the street, if I make eye contact with someone, and HOLD it, they almost always look away, and seem uncomfortable. But if more people became comfortable with eye contact, I think we would all feel a little more connected, and be able to communicate with each other more clearly.

Thanks again for the great post! Looking forward to checking out your other blogs!

Sort:  

Eye gazing is wonderful outside Tantra too, it can be used in meditation practices. Thank you for sharing your experience and leaving such a lovely comment 💚

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64561.16
ETH 3244.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91