How to stop procrastination

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Here is the secret to why over 1 billion people have played Tetris, and how to stop procrastination.

eu47f13433.gif
giphy.com

Due to the conscious mind’s need for completeness it makes folks feel better to see the puzzle completed. Now you know why.

The conscious mind’s need to completeness affects everyday life. Trick your mind into thinking it is done and procrastination will cease.

As you may have read in my last post in the book “Visual Intelligence Sharpen Your Perception. Change Your Life” by Amy E. Herman teaches how to increase your observation skills. Well now I am observing my need to complete everything to the point of taking no action and/or creating stress around it.

You know how we sometimes put something off and are eventually barely able to undertake it if at all, due to the overwhelming feeling that comes with putting it off. This is part of the Zeirgarnik effect.

How this effect was discovered

The conscious mind’s need for completeness is known as the Zeigarnik effect discovered by Russian psychologist, Bluma Zeigarnik, in the 1930’s she is sitting in a café in Vienna when she notices that servers have great recall skills, but once they put the food on the table they are relieved of remembering.

Once I began to look at this concept for completion I was able to decrease my need to procrastinate. I am breaking things down and not feeling like I have to get everything done now.

Everyone has this need for completeness

We all have this need for completeness. It is a human need. That’s why we see “cliffhangers” in use on television; it is the Zeigarnik effect that keeps us coming back.

You may not care about trivia facts but once someone asks you it is irritating not to know them.

Why Tetris is a great success – over 1 Billion have played

The author of “Mind Hacks”, credits the Zeigarnik effect for the success of Tetris, which is estimated to have been played by over one billion people.

The game takes advantage of the mind’s pleasure in tidying up and uses it against us.

This knowledge may help you stop procrastinating

This will enable some of you to begin to take care of things put on hold because at some point they seemed too overwhelming. The feeling of being overwhelmed can cause us not to do anything.

Solution for procrastination: Trick the mind into thinking it is being done.

Reference Book: “Visual Intelligence Sharpen Your Perception. Change Your Life” by Amy E. Herman

Thank you for reading,
@rebeccabe

b3zoxag8tq.png

This post created using #esteem by @good-karma

Be sure and check out in discord:

#steemitbloggers
#steemusa
#photofriend

jyi1yr7rjv.png

created by @jaynie

z5gziwnazb.gif

created by @malos10

Sort:  

The key is to trick the mind...some days it is easier than others. I find that if I take what see like unsurmountable jobs and break them into smaller pieces, I can manage them and they don't seem so large at the end of the day.

I love the example of the server. I get in real bad form if someone pulls me away from an incomplete task to start something else . I k ow that feeling.

Posted using Partiko Android

I know I am the same way.

What a surprise to wake up to... Yay! I have not heard from you in ages and have been thinking of hopping over and seeing what you are up to.

And now #steembloggers is appreciating my post. I think today is looking up.

It deserved to be appreciated, that's why!
Taking it slow over here, need to focus more in the 'real life' at the moment! I'll still be around!

This post is sponsored by @SteemitBloggers in collaboration with @appreciator. Just keep up the good work.



I think the best decision is to start doing it now because there isn't any other time. Later never comes. Tomorrow never comes. You wake up in the morning and it's today again. A day to use your energy wisely!

Thanks for the post! Have an impressive day!

Agreed easing the mind anyway we can. :)

Another great post

Thanks my friend I appreciate you saying that.

Hi @rebeccabe!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.238 which ranks you at #2648 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 77 places in the last three days (old rank 2571).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 291 contributions, your post is ranked at #68.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Oh that's why we like to play Tetris!! Thanks for the enlightening post. I really didn't know it helps with procrastination, but it sure is satisfying when it can be completed.

#steemitbloggers

glad it helps. @happycrazycon I watch that gif and feel better. LOL

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/9cdhjc7

I learnt something new today.... and shall use this to my advantage :)
For some reason I have been stalling my post today
Time to focus on the finished post
Thank you @rebeccabe

Good job so cool.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10