You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 25 | Depression through the lens of CBT & the case study of Mr. B.

in #psychology6 years ago

I have personally gone through a prolonged process of CBT myself with regards to addiction. I believe that the value of CBT lies in its ability to help a person slowly regain control over once uncontrollable thoughts, reactions, emotions, etc. and being allowed to rewrite cognitive journals where within we start jotting down positives, too.

Although it is not explicitly stated I would argue that Mr B's response to the events in his life, which resulted in his depression and suicidal tendencies, was something he was already susceptible to and was merely triggered by the events leading up to and after the divorce (along with other relevant events).

Going through something like that renders a person feeling completely powerless. The co-morbidity of OCD would only contribute to these feelings of powerlessness as compulsions are already psychosomatic impulses in response to wanting to have control over things (internal and external).

CBT allowed Mr B to recognize and reawaken that part of him which wanted to be in control, yet was drowned out by the depression. It is very important to note that it took a long time. Changing behaviour and thinking patterns is a prolonged process.

Continuing to your questions:

  1. Do you agree with the behaviourist notion that proposes that it is not the situation per se that causes emotional responses; but rather the meaning attached to it?

Yes. I liken it to where you state that in a negative emotional state people find it difficult to remember good memories. Conditioning is important. In Mr B's case we could argue that he avoided any relationships afterwards because of the change in his understanding and perspective on relationships after the divorce (and even prior to).

He is now possibly lonely and isolated but the though of meeting someone new conjures terror, rather than elation.

  1. Whenever you feel sad or anxious do you also resort to strategies that alleviate the symptoms of your difficult feelings?

It depends on the situation. Sometimes it is important to rather work through certain emotions instead of trying to alleviate them. It is important, to me, to understand why I react to things to way I do and why they stimulate specific emotions.

It is also important to distinguish between self-defeating emotions (responses) and emotions that offer an opportunity for self-reflection and growth.

Thank you for the well-written article. It really stimulated some brain matter on this side.

Please let me know if you see any error in my thinking! :)
@rionpistorius.

Sort:  

@rionpistorious, When I finished reading your comment I thought to myself: "Beautiful!" with a smile on my face. Thank you very much for taking the time to share this most incredible insight on CBT here with us.

I also appreciate the way you looked further into Mr. B's case. Byt the way, your answers to the questions I left at the end of the posts are actually quite similar to my own answer :)

Thank you for your most kind compliment!
All the best to you.

Awesomeness, looking forward to the next case-study!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63236.79
ETH 3280.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85