You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology: A Brief Visit with the Stereotypes of Life

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Yeah it goes back to early life when boys played with Gi Joe and girls with dolls.

We have been brainwashed and programmed through generation after generation that this is the way it "ought" t be.

Of course now as a Society we are a bit more open to boys playing with dolls and girls Gi Joe but still it will never completely accepted

Sort:  

Oh, no doubt we've been brainwashed!

"Rigid gender lines" seem more prominent in the USA than other places I have lived (I was born and raised in Denmark and around Europe, but have lived in the US for many years)... and people seem more resistant to examining the "boxes" they put themselves in.

I'm always puzzled by groups of women who complain about "clueless, helpless men" but they will go to some lengths to make sure those same men DON'T ever step foot in the laundry room or kitchen... so they can't actually LEARN to be anything but "helpless."

But then I'm probably gender stereotyping myself by suggesting we FIX the problem.

I'm always puzzled by groups of women who complain about "clueless, helpless men" but they will go to some lengths to make sure those same men DON'T ever step foot in the laundry room or kitchen... so they can't actually LEARN to be anything but "helpless."

ding ding ding....we have a winner. My wife nags me about picking up my clothes but yet when I get too neat she thinks something is really wrong with me.

It's a no win situation. And honestly a little form of Control by some of these women who do this.

Kind of like those women who want to be CEO while the hubbie is Mr. Mom but then wants full custodial rights and alimony when divorce happens because she has a vagina ( Sorry, just being brutally honest).

It's a case of wanting to have your cake and eat it to. If you want Equality you must accept the Good and the Bad, imho

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63659.40
ETH 3075.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01