The BEST Ideas in Jordan Peterson's Book "12 Rules for Life: An Antidote to Chaos" Part 4

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

14_AFEFA4-8_D53-42_A1-_B1_D6-495237235_D3_E.jpg

That quote, from the powerful mind of Carl Gustav Jung, comes to us courtesy of my new favorite book:

5_DFF13_E9-6_F49-4_DB8-_B9_D1-_DD82_AA66_CCD7.jpg

As the only species on the planet imbued with consciousness, our task throughout our lives is contending with, and optimizing, our experience of life.

"With all thy getting, get understanding."

The Bible, Proverbs 4:7

This book offers the reader several steps to bring themselves closer to an understanding of self.

The quote from Carl Jung,

"No tree can grow to Heaven, unless its roots reach down to Hell."

As with so many other useful pieces of valuable advice, it is profound yet left open to interpretation by the recipient.

Where comedy is concerned, a lot of comedy comes from places of pain...

Consider this meme from my last post:

24_D99233-9_F02-4129-_BAE0-89381297_C63_D.jpg

😂 Hilarious!

Why?

Women with a healthy self-esteem know the power they have over men. Men know this too, and that's why this meme is so funny to members of both genders who have had a relationship or two go south. 🙋‍♂️ 😉

(That meme is not in Jordan B Peterson's book.)

14_AFEFA4-8_D53-42_A1-_B1_D6-495237235_D3_E.jpg

Think about your own life, and how the best and worst experiences you've ever had tend to be connected.

A lover lost, a family member passing away, a pet contracting rabies and having to be put down...

Alternatively, a loved pet lost, a family member passing away, a spouse appearing to contract rabies and needing to be divorced...

More key quotes from Jordan Peterson's book:

Page 190

"Dostoevsky, one of the great literary geniuses of all time, confronted the most serious existential problems in all his great writings, and he did so courageously, headlong, and heedless of the consequences."

Two books now on my reading list are "Crime and Punishment" by Dostoevsky, and "The Gulag Archipelago" written by Solzhenitsyn; both recommended by Dr. Peterson, in his book, more times than I can count.

The reviews for both tomes will be found here on Steemit, probably years from now, as committing to either of these masterpieces is no small matter...

Page 195

"If you are disciplined and privilege the future over the present you can change the structure of reality in your favour."

This advice is THE MOST important guidance ANY member of the human race could ever follow. Period.

If you can master yourself, to delay gratification (with extreme prejudice) over immediate gratification, you will have conquered the plague of the human condition.

Here is my quote I've lived by since childhood, in the same vein of the one above:

"If you always look after your tomorrows you will always enjoy your todays."

It's Wednesday Steemit!

Get out there and do something to make THURSDAY better than today!

Thank you for reading 😊

@scan0017 😘

Sort:  

I’m out of words to describe how much I love this quotation

no tree can grow to heaven , unless it’s roots reach down to Hell .

Seriously in my life I have seen those people who are so successful today but few years ago .... no one knew about them and no one knew about the struggle they have made in their lives ..... it’s obvious if we want to see success in our lives we need to do something about it today and sometimes we have to go through hard phases that we never faced before.... and my friend I must say .... you are a great and genuine person ...
yesterday you make everyone to laugh with you post and today you shared an important and deep thought of life ..... THANK YOU @scan0017

No tree can grow to Heaven, unless its roots reach down to Hell.

Well said, I completely agree. I think that the good experience and the bas are connected in a way. We have to experience bad sometimes to reach to the good experience in life.
Great book. I'm going to read it, I think it would be interesting.

this is very interesting, I love it, and it is very useful for people, hopefully your day is fun and always successful yes, I will always support you.
I will upvote and restem

The story of my life but still as a work in progress, sometimesI look for my self esteem when I try to get out of bed.

jordan Peterson's Book "12 Rules for Life: is so much great to read i really to saw and read the whole post of your my great friend @sca0017 resteemed and upvoted bro

İt is wonderful. You are awesome @scan0017

I just upvoted your content.
I never say to upvote my post.

But please read this story and post your comments.

If you like, then you can upvote.

https://steemit.com/picture/@abimp/young-adventurers-story-begins-part-1

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65