Does Your Dog Bark?

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

does your dog bark

Nefnef barked this morning. Several consecutive times.

That made me think of why dogs bark.

Yf Yf Yf Yf Yf

One of our neighbors have two Pomeranians, and when we pass under their balcony, they "bark" at Nefnef and me. Okay, it's not really barking, more like a lot of yf-sounds.

Why?

They are scared of Nefnef, who's much bigger than them. But they don't want to show weakness, so they bark the best they can. Besides, Nefnef doesn't stand a chance of reaching them, because they are on the second floor of the building. (And Nefnef doesn't care one bit.)

The Annoying Neighbor's Dog

There's always at least one in the neighborhood, right? He's the master of his home, and he has a dog. A real man must have a dog, a big one.

But that kind of real man rarely has interest in the said dog after he'd brought it home and impressed his fellow real-men with it.

So now it's left outside in the garden, alone, barking all day and all night.

Why?

Because it's lonely and frustrated. This is not a life fit for a social being.

The Guard Dog

The guard dog hears a sound, and it barks.

Why?

Okay, confession... this is not a true guard dog, because they are silent, and they simply attack. No, the amateur guard dog is one that could belong to any human.

And when it barks, it's because it has heard a sound, and it wants to show his human how clever and brave he is.

Nefnef

Nefnef was two years old before she barked the first time.

Why?

A Trabant car entered our parking with its significant Rrrriing rrrring rrring motor-sound.

Apparently, that owed it a deep-voiced bark.

The second time she barked was a couple of months later, and there was a sandstorm. Good reason for a warning.

Now she barks from time to time, like back when my husband used a mosquito spray. Poisonous. I hated that, too, so now he's stopped.

And then this morning. Several barks.

Why?

She and the cat, Frostie, had just been engaged in a pet battle. Then the little rat (Frostie) put his ears back and meowed loudly. As always, it worked. My husband came out of the living room, and Nefnef barked at him.

"It wasn't my fault," she said. "Frostie started," she said. "I didn't do anything Frostie didn't do first," she said.

Bark, bark, bark.

My husband gave her the eye...

She barked again.

"She wants you to forgive her," I told him.

"I'm not going to," he replied.

Bark!

"She insists," I said.

"She cannot force me to forgive her," he said.

Bark!

"Yes, she can," I told him.

So he forgave her.

Why Is Your Dog Barking?

Does your dog bark? What is it trying to tell you?

Previous Posts in my Dog Life Series

Teach Your Dog Words (Dog Life Day #1)
When Opportunity Knocks (Dog Life Day #2)
Pet Battles (Dog Life Day #3)
Nefnef Finally Got Recognition (Dog Life Day #4)
Should We Live in the Present? (Dog Life Day #5)
How I Got My Dog Using Magic
Are You Sure You Want a Dog?
Rocket Scare (Dog Life Day #8)

@originalworks

Sort:  

😂 I never thought about that. Since my two dogs are seniors they bark only outside when they see other dogs or things they scare them...

I think most dogs bark when they see other dogs unless they are both outside of their territory. I've noticed that spitz dogs don't bark as much as other dogs.

This morning, we saw one of the tom cats of the neighborhood. He stayed put, while my dog talked to him, but when she got closer (she's very eager), he got up and walked away, marking his territory on the way. It was like he said, "I'm not scared of you, just because you're bigger. I just wanted to leave for other reasons, and here, look, this is MY place."

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Do not count on it

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Many Egyptians worshipped the goddess Bast, who had a woman’s body and a cat’s head.

A form of AIDS exists in cats.

Cats should not be fed tuna exclusively, as it lacks taurine, an essential nutrient required for good feline health. Make sure you have the proper Pet supplies to keep your cat happy and healthy.

The chlorine in fresh tap water irritates sensitive parts of the cat's nose. Let tap water sit for 24 hours before giving it to a cat.

An African wolf dog known as the Basenji is the only dog in the world that cannot bark.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62916.93
ETH 3028.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67