Motivation : Theory X, Theory Y - Money or Something Else

in #psychology6 years ago


Yes, money is my main source of motivation, I guess I can relate this to Douglas McGregor's theory.

Theory X:

This theory says people don't like to work at all, they only work because they need money for living and thats why they just have to work, or at least try to do some work. This is very true for me, if everything was provided, would people be willing to work? This is very true for many people, especially in my case, if there was no need to pay for food, housing, electricity, water, gas, transport and various other things, I would prefer to eat sleep fuck and repeat every single day, and going from here to there like everyday is a holiday, this is very true for me.

But unfortunately this is just a dream because there is no unlimited passive source of money for me, and that's why I have to force myself to do some work and get the money, that's why one of my biggest dream is to invest in land and development and build large towers and retire asap and I can just collect rent every month and live that dream life which many desires. And these days its even possible to get something like that by setting up bots on the internet which will work on its own to make money, but hey I don't know how to build a bot, help me learn if you know how to build one.


Theory Y:

I find it cute how McGregor came up with Theory X & Y as a pair. Theory Y is about people who are always open to work, money is not their primary source of motivation and these kinda people are in it for the fun, the desire to achieve something or perhaps to bring changes to the world through their work and efforts. Its the opposite of Theory X.


Motivation Ways:

The first approach is to identify people and categorise them in group X or group Y. The next thing is to define goals, as if why you want to motivate the person, for example you could be a factory manager and your duty is to finish the production before deadline, the basic approach to motivate X is to directly discuss with them, they will get a bonus if the work is done before time, or they may get a cut in their pay, in most cases a common mistake is that managers only mentions the pay cut, and not offer a bonus. You should remember for them money is the main factor, similarly if you like viewing someone's post, the best motivation is your upvote instead of a comment saying "hey nice post" but without the upvote. The more X gets rewarded, the more he is motivated.


Examples of Person X vs. Person Y

For a Y person it's different, they get satisfaction by being able to complete the work before deadline, they likes overcoming challenges, for them your praise makes them happy instead of some monetary rewards, a bonus can definitely be a plus point, and these people are already excited even without any bonus, like my fellow Steemian friend who doesn't complain nor comprises with his content whether he is being rewarded with your upvotes or not, he cares about the quality of his work, his biggest reward comes from self-satisfaction. Totally opposite from type X like me, I spend half an hour to create a content and if it does not perform well the next content I will spend 20 minutes and 10 minutes and maybe start spamming.


But my Y friend spends his time in improving his quality, he seeks to achieve perfection, he is passionate about his work, he believes his work will attract his audiences whereas lazy type X like me believes oh yeah if I'm being given reward properly maybe then I will think about improving, but since I'm not rewarded or my rewards are not increasing so why waste time improving because I would rather watch the tv instead of wasting time with petty cents.

Conclusions:

One of the best skills you can have in life is to motivate others, it can be through words or actions. As children we were motivated by our parents through chocolate and toys "if you can score that much in your test I will buy you that thing which you always wanted" is something which most of us can clearly remember from our school days. So in order to motivate someone the first thing is to figure out what drives their inner world and then present them with what they want in order to make them do what you want them to do, the only thing is to figure out what is it they want. As for the final example let's talk about an income tax officer. There could be two factors, number one is he is a corrupt person and would sell his soul to you if you offer him enough bribe which is mouth watering for him, the second option could be he totally hates corruption amd he will send you to jail if you even try to bribe him, all he cares is you properly submit all your files and pay all your taxes in time without trying to deceive even a bit, all he cares is to maintain the law and do his work properly and instead of getting his foreign bank account getting bigger deposits, he cares for your tax money to be spend for the development of the society and the poor and underprivileged to benefit from it.


Photo Source: All the photos in this article are collected, and have been used for educational purposes.

PS: do upvote this post first, and resteem. Comment if you feel like commenting, I will try to reply, in fact most of the comments I get are replied.



Sort:  

Nice post my friend @skreza, the theory is very true the X type are much.
You can learn how to create your bot online just do some research about it.
Thanks for this one.

Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97