Weekend vs time vs money

in #psychology5 years ago (edited)

We made up the weekend the same way we made up the week. Earth actually does rotate around the sun once a year, taking about 365.25 days, and it dont care for week, weekends or time

That seven-day cycle buffered on both ends by those promise-filled 48 hours of freedom
—only holds us in place because we invented it.
IMG_0375.jpg

We abuse time, make it our enemy.
We try to contain and control it, or, at the very least, outrun it.
We hunt, even A faster phone; that you finger on the “Close” button in the elevator; to get your same-day delivery.!!
We shave minutes down to nano-seconds, mechanizing and digitizing our hours and days, paring them toward efficiency....
Time haven’t always been so rigid.
The Mayans and the pagans saw time as a wheel, their lives repeating in stages, ever turning.
This idea stuck—and it’s way more boring than a wheel.
IMG_0378.jpg

Becoming efficient is a way of saying “I’m going to conquer time before it conquers me.” To slow down, to stop fighting time, to actually feel it—this is an act of giving in, which is seen as a weakness.
Bragging “I never take a weekend” is a gesture of strength: I corralled time, I beat it down.
To actually, -taking a weekend of means ceasing the fight with time, and letting it be neutral, unoccupied.
How come this isn’t this a good thing?

Time is money says the proverb, but turn it around and you get a precious truth. Money is time -George Gissing

IMG_0375.jpg


The clock became the ubiquitous new boss.
Back in the day, workers tended to complete their work organically, in accordance to mother natures laws: the sherman’s tasks beholden to the tides; the farmer’s to the seasons.
Now adays we measure it in productivity
Time now have a dollar value, and became a commodity, not to be wasted.
Time is now currency: It is not passed but spent,” wrote by E. P. Thompson.


IMG_0383.jpg

My house ;is your house

New released house/Groove tunes for the weekend


“Study me as much as you like, you will not know me, for I differ in a
hundred ways from what you see me to be
.
♡ 🐲ℒℴve 🐉♡

dragon heart.png

CameraCanon EOS 77D
LensCanon EF S18-55mm f/4-5.6G
Location Sweden; somewere
OwnerAll Rights reserved,original content by @swedishdragon

giphy (1).gif

Nmae

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Such gorgeous shots love the warm light and I think reversing the saying makes it so much more relevant Time is money I like that

Woohoo so great to hear, thanks🐉😀🐲💗
I do agree, for me; i live by time is money

Thats how I live as well, I find people like us are so much happier than others

Jupp you nailed that coment, soo true, nooow the bigger Question is; whyyy is that? shoudlent it be the other way around??

That’s a good question and I am not sure i have a good answer to be honest, but it may be that people like us are truly happy with ourselves and how we deal wit others, whereas the others are just concerned about themselves and are happy with themselves and do not really care about others

Thanks :D Hmm im not actually looking for a good answer, im just asking the quostion :)
I agree! Can it also be a fact of if we feel selfworth and confidence we are abel to give to others? Instead of thinking we SHOULD recive????

I know but your post and our comments makes one think about this which is a good thing

I think having a feeling of self acceptance is important if you can truly accept yourself then you can do the same for others
So many these days seem to be the I want I need I deserve crowd funny thing is for me I dislike those three feeling and like you prefer giving to receiving

On one end we try not to waste a single minute of our life, we strive to be productive and work work work and on the other end of a spectrum, we waste a large portion of our day by doing silly things that don't bring anything valuable in our life. A couple of days ago I was browsing youtube and I was so incredibly bored. I browsed even more and got even more bored instead of reading a book, drawing, playing an instrument or literally doing anything else. These days don't happen very often but man, when they do they're tough haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99