TELEPHONOPHOBIA: HOW WELL DO YOU PICK OR IGNORE YOUR CALLS?

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone, after my long break on Steemit, yes I decided to explore on different things and I noticed some were favourable,, while others not really. I chose to offer myself a long break required to rebuild and design different things outside steemit. I trust everything goes as arranged, let me quit rambling and get on with the post.

Introduction

I am someone who watch their telephone ring for eternity and yet don't pick, people around me don't even bother calling the second time once I didn't pick the first. hope you get the drift? Now and again I get furious like, for what reason would you continue calling more than twice when I didnt pick the first, second and third? That by itself irritates the sh*t out of me. I am the sort that loathes telephone call, I could text a whole day and forget to make a call, my people are sick of whining, seriously I will try and mend my ways. Am I alone in this? Despite the fact that I detest getting calls, I wouldn't label it as somebody who is Telephonophobic. Well I will know after this post shall we?

As weird as it seems we have people who suffer intense of talking on the phone.
Telephonophobia which is self revelatory, could be a part of general social phobia however some are known to experience the ill effects of the particular fear of talking on the telephone. Telephonophobia which is fear of taking a phone call which literally means fear of telephones. It is also compared with glossophobia which arise from having to engage with an audience which is associated with being judged, criticized.

Causes

Just like any social or specific phobias, the fear of talking on the phone might stem a negative involvement in one's childhood. Most people who suffer this are frightened of being told how their voices sound amid phone calls. Some also during adulthood in the wake of hearing reports about cell phones generates harmful electromagnetic fields that adversely affects health/wellbeing or cause brain tumors.
One might say, such people have a propensity towards hypochondriachal depression because of which they build up a steady fear of talking on the telephone.

There have been individuals who abhorred talking on the telephone and avoided it, declining to reply, sending their calls to phone message or voice-mail. A few people aren't open by nature or some process information slowly than others. Email and text offer individuals to make their comments and take as much time as necessary in responding( this is so me).

Symptoms.

Much the same as some other phobia, telephonobia has its symptoms which are;

  • Dry mouth
  • Feelinv like running away
  • Rapid heart rate
  • Excessively sweating
  • Anxiety attack
  • Trembling
  • Avoidance behaviour which means avoid answering the phone when it rings or could not initiate a conversation.

NB: this phobia can affect ones daily activities by causing one to avoid important activities.

Treatment.

There are diverse tips to handle this phobia.

  • Writing/scribbling down the discussion ahead of time, particularly when you are familiar to such discussions. Eg getting a regular checkup.
  • Wiping out the fear of being judged by individuals, in a circumstance where you get judged by the sound of your voice and also remember that one is not obliged to be friends with the individual on the other end, in this manner one need not to be afraid.
  • Listening progressively and talking less can fundamentally decrease anxiety related with talking on telephone. What's more, listening more creates an environment that is conducive to conversation.

After making this post, I could express that i'm telephonophonic in a kinda way, not entirely scared of picking calls, I literally get tired speaking two minuets in the conversation. More reason I don't pick up most times.

Having gone through this post, I could state that i'm telephonophonic is a kinda way.
Did you enjoy the read? Kindly comment below.

References

https://www.fearof.net/

https://www.fearof.net/fear-of-talking-on-the-phone-phobia-telephonophobia/

https://www.business2community.com/tech-gadgets/telephonophobia-really-thing-cure-01965401

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Telephone_phobia

Sort:  

wow, this my first time am reading something like this but I must say I experienced something like this in the past... This is indeed very educational.

Long time old friend

Wow! It couldn't be better @sweetestglo-eu ( ‘‿’ )

Wow
You keep feeding me things i didnt know exist
Atleast will have a remedy if i come in contact with sm1 like that

I can relate pretty well with everything you said. I think I am telephonophonic...sometimes I feel like what does this person has to say to me. Peeps complain alot☺

As a result my close buddies who are aware of "my bad habit"(according to them) mostly send SMS to me rather than calling me. I just don't like calls... I am always in hurry to end a call because I am person of very few words via phone call and a man of so much words in person.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69390.09
ETH 3783.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83