WHY KIDS DRAW ON WALLS

in #psychology5 years ago

"Oh, NO!!! Not on walls and wallpapers!! Take your album! How will I remove your "masterpieces" ???!!!!" - it's standard screams of many moms seeing their babies have creativity time on walls and wallpapers of their house.

But is it right?

I've found the reply on this question in psychology of kids development.

The thing is ALL kids draw on walls and wallpapers. Or at least they try to do it.
And it's absolutely NORMAL and logical like any other step in their developmental.

Wall paintings are the same with games in the middle of the hall where all members of the family go all the time. Many parents know such a "habbit" of their children;) So kids create a definite barreer for adults, they do it unconsciously but having absolutely clear reason for it.

So WHY do they do it?

They NEED to leave a sign of their presence in this piece of the world.
Your house is HIS world now, HIS space and HIS universe, and he really needs to leave a mark that he belongs to this very world, and he is a part of it.
The same is with games in unacceptable places (like adults think).

They leave a sign that it's their territory, and they feel safe and comfortable - they have their background, the place of love and care.

The psychologists claim that scolding kids for this habbit is stupid and harmful. It's just a step of their development, and parents need patience to wait for the next one.

So what to do?

Just let your kids have his space in your (his) house.
Let him draw and decorate the walls like he wants! It's his creativity;)
Btw there're special wallpapers for kids drawings;)

If you don't accept it, then just don't leave your kids and paints alone near the walls;)

My own experince

My parents say I am a crazy loving Mom because I let my son do unacceptable things;) Like drawing on walls;)

Actually, I don't think it's something crazy, I didn't know this scientific expalanation when I allowed him to draw on walls but I was right;)

I just give my son freedom in his piece of our house - in his room.

We didn't buy expensive wallpapers with diamond dust:) because it's a room for a baby, and it shouldn't be like a museum;)

So now I've his first masterpieces on walls;)

**Later they became more comlicated ;)) **
and Mom was invited to enjoy the process too, and I really liked it!;))

And our latest masterpiece;)

Not so much for the whole room, right?:)
And I like looking at these first pictures of my child:) And he likes that he can decorate his room like HE wants.

Now he isn't interested in wall drawings any more, he chooses sheets of papers and special blackboards.
So the scientists are right - parents need just to wait and take care of kids comfort and freedom of choice more than of their prejudieces.

Sort:  

Awwww....I find it very cute when they do these crazy stuff. But yes when we allow them to explore their world the way they want we enhance their mental abilities. Lovely reading

Hello, your article pleases me and is meaningful to me, because while my nephew was growing he also painted on the walls and we (grandmother, mom and aunt) put sheets of bond paper on the wall to be expressed with his art. He was happy and we were happy too.
I agree with you that it is only a stage and, like many, you have to enjoy them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93