Psychology Talk Series # 13: Why We're All a Bunch of Famewhores

in #psychology6 years ago

fame.jpg


We live in a world where anyone with any social media account could be famous. Hell, from Kim Kardashian acquiring fame and all her current wealth from that sex scandal, we're now down to people intentionally posting their own scandals to plot their own journey to fame. It's crazy although I admit, I also want to attain some fame, and I know it's the same for everybody else here. The only difference between you guys and me though is probably how I'm not ashamed to say that here. I know you know what's really going on.

Now, let's get to it and discuss the whole psychology behind our being suckers for fame.


Recognition


Filipino elders always tell the younger generations, "be somebody" as if you weren't any good as your own self. They say it in a supposedly motivational manner which ironically turns those they advise into people who have a whole lot of issues. My grandmother lovingly reminded me of that too--"turn your name into a label"--and I still work towards that. Yes, like I said, I'm not going to lie about what I know I really want. However, for some people who are told things like this, it could just result to terrible outcomes. They might be too worked up on the idea of being that somebody, leading them to chase fame like it's the real way.

A friend once said,

Fame is the only form of success.

I remember nodding my head to that thought but being deeply bothered inside. I could not believe that this person actually believes that life could be that shallow. Still, I know that when I nodded along that idea, there was something about that whole concept that needs to be discussed.

It's easy these days to say you're going to be famous and actually achieve it, but I don't think all of these people have actually thought of what they really want to be famous for. The popularity alone is too intoxicating that they no longer think of the essence of it. Well, does it matter? IT DOES!

That friend of mine who had that opinion on fame and success actually doesn't even know what she wants to be famous for despite claiming she wants to be successful of course in that sense. It's easy to say from this then that people are so confused of who they are that they cling onto things like the concept of popularity as if recognition from other people is the answer to the question "Who am I?"

Empty recognition like that is nothing but an air you can't even breathe like oxygen. Still, that illusion of a something is still better than absolute nothing for many of us.


Immortality


Have you noticed our love for keeping every memory into pictures, videos, or texts? I remember my philosophy professor said it's our attempt to keep everything alive in the present. I agree with that a hundred percent. We take pictures to treasure special moments with important people which is very much like the concept of fame.

All of us have within, a desire to be remembered forever despite the irony that if we die we might not even remember anything from our lives here on earth that it wouldn't really matter. Fame tempts us with that deceiving promise to keep us alive and current, so we get easily drawn to it. Perhaps those who really want to die already are an exemption to this, and that could really be true, but feeling suicidal roots from loneliness which is usually repressed by many by seeking attention, and oh does fame really set you in a hell of a spotlight.


Aesthetics


This might be a little new theory, about this whole matter, and that is because I had it made myself. You see, we all love beautiful things, and with the way fame is displayed, this whole lifestyle just becomes so attractive by its beauty per se. The glamorous wardrobe, fancy cars, breath-taking properties, awesome people (fans) around, etc., it's just the perfect picture ever everyone wants to frame! The beauty of the lifestyle attracts us to it and it's not even necessarily the privilege that comes with it but the materials in it mainly. Want to further understand what I mean? Check this article I wrote about it then leave comments below so we can discuss about it.













reference:

img sources:

Sort:  

This is a good series!

Have you noticed our love for keeping every memory into pictures, videos, or texts? I remember my philosophy professor said it's our attempt to keep everything alive in the present

I agree with this too. It's easy to almost relive a moment in the past, with a video, picture or song. It's probably okay to spend a little time reliving the past, and also good to reflect on the past and learn its lessons. But most of the time we should cherish the present moment and live in it.

Just my random thoughts inspired by your post. Thanks for this!

Oh love this insight! Thank you for reading :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60832.04
ETH 2902.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55