You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Talk Series # 16: Night Owl in the City

in #psychology6 years ago

I have always felt much more productive when I stop letting the clock tell me when I am going to rest and instead allow my body (and prior engagements) dictate when I rest. I find that when I attempt to "be good" and go to bed at an earlier time, I will rarely fall asleep any earlier (and frequently enough stay up even later) than if I just waited until my body told me to rest. When I use external prompts like an alarm, I find myself "snoozing" much more frequently, which always translates to me feeling more tired when I eventually drag myself out of bed.

I also don't have a consistent work schedule so I find it hard to set a sleeping routine. I have been curious about attempting a biphasic sleeping experiment to see if I can use it to assist with achieving a moment for mindfulness with every day and maybe benefit from improved productivity. But regardless of how many phases of sleep, I'm a night owl forever!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67780.64
ETH 3792.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63