You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 37 | What Do you Do When Things go Wrong?

in #psychology6 years ago

Excellent post! The first time I saw that selective attention video, I was also convinced that no gorilla was in the original video. Its one of my favorite psyche videos.

I hadn't heard of the amusingly named Floridia Effect. I don't know if its related, but I've noticed a particularly engrossing book can affect my mood/energy levels (ie. a depressing book will make me have low energy). Anyways, thanks for sharing!

Sort:  

Oh @tking77798, you didn't see the gorilla too! Welcome to my group 😆 I did the test with my husband and he saw it straight away. He asked 'what's up with that gorilla?' 🙄

I did mention this on a previous comment here : Over the past few years there has been a little controversy over the findings of this experiment. Psychologists began to question its reliability, mostly because of the difficulty to replicate it. Nevertheless, on a more recent study it has been found out that primes are very powerful when influencing gambling decisions, for example. I, personally believe, that our environment influence us in ways that we aren't fully aware of.

And how you reported you feel after reading a book just reinforces that priming is indeed real. Acctually, your comment reminded me of how I felt after watching Dancer in the Dark by Lars Von Trier. This was years ago. Gosh I was upset for 2-3 days!

Admittedly, some of us are more gullible than others. But, undoubtedly, we all become a little more fragile and susceptible in times of emotional distress :)

Thank you for stopping by once again @tking :)
Best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58576.55
ETH 2982.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71