You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Understanding shyness

in #psychology6 years ago

Yep, I've definitely done a dance with my shyness over the years. Funny thing - I did theater in high school, and never had a problem when I was on stage (beyond the usual jitters). However, about a decade later, I decided (long story) to run for the office of State Representative in our area. I wrote a speech, practiced it, and was fine. The absolute moment I stepped in front of that microphone - total nerves! I shook my way through the whole thing, and felt like a little shy girl again. Emotions are funny things.

And excellent information about all things shy, @dedicatedguy! Nicely done!

Sort:  

The absolute moment I stepped in front of that microphone - total nerves

I can imagine going through something similar, speaking in public is not something that I feel comfortable with, but in my case it has always been like that.

In the end, did you became a State Representative?

Nope, and I actually didn't expect to win - I was running against two others who had long and strong ties to the community that I'd only lived in for a year. However, it was part of a push from the Libertarian party to get 100 people running on the ballot in NH for that year, and in that, we succeeded. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61766.85
ETH 3081.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82