How to train your brain to be positive - 2 "simple" exercises

in #psychology6 years ago

It is easy to say to someone "Just be positive", but by just saying that with no explanation, you are not really helping a person, sometimes it will even have an opposite effect because the person will be annoyed or even more depressed for not being able to be positive. When I was struggling with depression a few years back, the thing I hated was when someone just came to me and said it. "Thank you genius! I know that. Tell me how!"

In today's post, I will explain to you 2 "simple" exercises that will help you train your brain in positivity. They sound simple, but I would be lying if I said that they always came easily to me. You will have to make a decision to try them out and be persistent. Do not expect to see results overnight because your brain is not used to thinking this way and you will have to invest some time and energy into making it work for you. Do not give up. Speaking from personal experience and from working with a lot of different people, this will help you. I promise.

1532030.jpg

LOOKING for "IT"

The first exercise is here to train you how to think in a different way. If you want your life to change, the first thing you have to change is your thought pattern. You don't think you have one? Well... I think you do. But go ahead and prove me wrong. If this exercise will come easy to you than you are right, and if it will give you some trouble than you do have a thought pattern. But don't worry, that can change.

"You must learn to master a new way to think before you can master a new way to be." Marianne Williamson

LOOK FOR POSITIVE THINGS IN EVERY SITUATION

example 1. "Washing dishes"
possible positive affirmations:

  • It is so good that I am able to have clean water to do this...
  • Everything will be clean and nice when I am done...
  • I always loved this plate...
  • Soap bubbles are so funny...

example 2. "Studying for a test"
possible positive affirmations:

  • The author of this book is so smart...
  • I will have so much more knowledge after this...
  • This will benefit me in a lot of ways...
  • This is a new and interesting thing for me to read...

example 3. "Braking up with someone"
possible positive affirmations:

  • I am grateful for all the happy moments we had...
  • I now have so many possibilities...
  • I have learned a lot from this experience...
  • I am excited about my new freedom...

You can find something positive in everything, sometimes you just have to try a bit harder. With time, this exercise will become easier and easier. It is normal to have initial resistance, it will ease up by practising it regularly.

REMEBER! You will always SEE the thing you are LOOKING at :)

Man-on-Suitcase.jpg
tinybuddha.com

RAMPAGE "IT"

The second exercise comes naturally after you have completed the first one. After you were looking and found one positive thing milk it all the way! :) Be greedy! Take everything you can from it. List everything good and go on a little rampage of gratitude for all the good you can see in something.

"Be on a rampage of appreciation every single day!" Wayne Dyer

COUNT EVERYTHING GOOD AND DONT STOP COUNTING IT!

example 1. "Standing in line at the bank/post office/..."
possible rampage:

"This is such a nice building, the architecture looks amazing. Look at those plants in the corner, they are so nice and healthy and kind in giving us oxygen. That woman over there has a beautiful dress, and that man over there is very good lookings. This bank/post office is very efficient and people working here are always nice and polite to me. What is that music playing, it has a nice ring to it and a good upbeat. I am so happy to be able to be here surrounded by all this wonderful and different people. Look at that cute baby playing with his toy. Babies are so adorable..."

example 2. "Being stuck in traffic"
possible rampage:

"My car is so good and reliable, I can count on it to take me everywhere I want. I am so lucky I do not have to walk so far on foot. Look at this road. How amazing is it that society evolved to using roads. These traffic lights are so useful, there would be chaos without them. Oh, what a lovely song on the radio. That singer has an amazing voice. I am so grateful to be able to go and do this thing I have to do, I am gonna make the best of it. Look at those trees, oh and look at those people on their bikes and what a cute old couple holding hands. These seats in my car are so comfortable..."

You can make a rampage of gratitude and appreciation out of every situation, you just have to start, the thoughts will follow each other naturally, and soon it will come with no surprise to you that you will find and milk the positivity from everything :)

REMEBER!
POSITIVE mind -> POSITIVE vibes -> POSITIVE life!

14-03-20extra1.jpg
Positive thoughts

I do hope this post helped you to help yourself. You are the only one who has the power to change your thoughts, raise your vibration and start living a happy life. You are an amazing person and you are loved. Namaste.

Sort:  

Svakodnevno uživati u malim stvarima... Ljepše mi je tako živjeti. Hvala Ti!

💚💚💚

I agree.. being positive is able to bring many positive results in life. Thanks for good post!

Thank you for reading it, I am happy you enjoyed it 💚

You are making some positive posts on this platform. Very inspiring. Keep up the good work :)

Thanks, I am glad you like it. 💚

I loved the examples. The soap is funny! It made me chuckle, and I'm not sure why haha. There is a positive in everything. I'm actually quite grateful for having depression for two brutal years - it gave me so much insight on myself, that I am better off than if I had never had depression.

Me too and actually I have not met a person who had depression and is now good that was not grateful for it.

Indeed! I love what makes me me <3

One of my favourite "exercises" when down is I force a smile. Eventually, I feel slightly happier. I also eat bananas. I always feel my dopamine levels rising afterwards!

Bananas + smile = happiness
I will write that down :)

thts a good suggestion there on trying to keep oneself positive,i will definately try this strategy and i have a strong feeling that it will definately do the job...thnx,appreciate the advice!

Good luck in trying it out, just be persistent 💚

i will do my best ! and thnx again for the advice!

@zen-art, it is not easy as there are too many negativity around us. However, it is still possible if the mindset is changed at the first place.

It is easier to be negative, I agree, but being positive is so much healthier and more fun :)

For you to be positive, you got be positive first @zen-art

Thank you for that simple advice, it is full of wisdom. I would just expand it a bit more. For you to be positive, you got to want to be positive. ;)

Ill try it, but i doubt it will work for me.

You will never know if you do not try. You have nothing to lose except your bad feelings, and you want to lose that, don't you? :)
Good luck and don't give up 💚

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 59 (2/28/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

💚💚💚

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77